The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 09, 2002, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 152
Curious about two issues in the final of the World Championships:

(1) On a late Argentina free throw, players were in the lane long before the ball left the shooters hand -- he made the shot. I thought the Argentina player was in first, but without a replay I'm not sure. Does FIBA wave off a shot for an offensive lane violation, or is it just a rule that applies to misses?

(2) A what if: The Argentina players were, I thought, awfully close to picking up a T at the end of regulation. If they had, would the T have been part of OT, or part of regulation? In other words, would they have lost without OT if a T was called and the FT made?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 09, 2002, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 285
I thought they were in the lane "early" on makes and misses. I'm not sure what the rule is for FIBA as compared to Fed or NCAA either
__________________
To tolerate mediocrity is to foster it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 09, 2002, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally posted by hawkk
Curious about two issues in the final of the World Championships:

(1) On a late Argentina free throw, players were in the lane long before the ball left the shooters hand -- he made the shot. I thought the Argentina player was in first, but without a replay I'm not sure. Does FIBA wave off a shot for an offensive lane violation, or is it just a rule that applies to misses?

(2) A what if: The Argentina players were, I thought, awfully close to picking up a T at the end of regulation. If they had, would the T have been part of OT, or part of regulation? In other words, would they have lost without OT if a T was called and the FT made?

thx
(1) It only applies to misses
(2) If you pick up a T after the game with the score tied, the OT will start with 2 FT's and a jump.

ADR
__________________
"Don't criticize what you don't understand, son. You never walked in that man's shoes." - Elvis often used this adaptation of a well-known quotation. And now, I do so as well...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 09, 2002, 03:52pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb That's FIBA

Quote:
Originally posted by A Dutch Ref

(2) If you pick up a T after the game with the score tied....

ADR
ADR,
C'mon, your games don't end with ties.
I bet you meant at the end of regulation time.
mick


Never give a good guy any slack.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 10, 2002, 06:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 46
I'm really really sorry Mr. Mick...
__________________
"Don't criticize what you don't understand, son. You never walked in that man's shoes." - Elvis often used this adaptation of a well-known quotation. And now, I do so as well...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1