The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:20am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
A1 tries to save the ball under his own basket and tumbles into the bleachers. B gains control and goes the other way. As A1 returns to the court, A2 makes a steal and passes ahead to A1 at the free throw line. A1 turns to take it to the basket. He bounces the ball twice, but he uses both hands for both bounces. ...
End of the play right there...my whistle is blowing.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
End of the play right there...my whistle is blowing.
Even though he doesn't touch the ball after the 2nd bounce?
Here's how I read his play:'
1. Bounce with two hands.
2. Catch with two hands.
3. Bounce.
4. Slip.
5. Ball flies away.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:31am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Even though he doesn't touch the ball after the 2nd bounce?
Here's how I read his play:'
1. Bounce with two hands.
2. Catch with two hands.
3. Bounce.
4. Slip.
5. Ball flies away.
In this play he has already started his dribble and that 2nd bounce is part of the dribble. If however he attempted to catch the ball and fumbled it then no, I wouldn't have a violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:33am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In this play he has already started his dribble and that 2nd bounce is part of the dribble. If however he attempted to catch the ball and fumbled it then no, I wouldn't have a violation.
Fair enough.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:37am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In this play he has already started his dribble and that 2nd bounce is part of the dribble.
Actually, it isn't. His dribble ended when he touched the ball with two hands. The second bounce is the start of another dribble, which is of course illegal, whether he touches it again after this second bounce or not.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:39am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Even though he doesn't touch the ball after the 2nd bounce?
Here's how I read his play:'
1. Bounce with two hands.
2. Catch with two hands.
3. Bounce.
4. Slip.
5. Ball flies away.
No catch. He simply pushed the ball to the floor twice, using both hands both times.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 09:51am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
No catch. He simply pushed the ball to the floor twice, using both hands both times.
Either way, #2 ends his first dribble. Whether he catches it or simply redirects it is irrelevant. I'm still letting it play out if he doesn't touch it after the 2nd bounce. You're not. The odds of it happening once are thin, and even more so that it'll happen twice in a game. They're further reduced when you add the condition that more than one official will get the call in the same game.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travel or Not? curtstrouth Basketball 10 Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:56pm
Where did the OBS occur? UmpireErnie Softball 8 Mon May 23, 2005 10:24am
When is getting up a travel? CYO Butch Basketball 23 Tue Jan 20, 2004 11:28am
A travel or not a travel RefJeff Basketball 4 Wed Oct 01, 2003 12:19pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1