![]() |
|
|
|||
Player of floor
NFHS
A1 misses a shot. A2 and B2 attempt to rebound. A2 retrieves the rebound and in the process B2 falls to the floor. A2 misses his shot attempt, gets his own rebound and in his attempt to shoot again, stumbles over B2 who is still on the floor. I call travel. Coach A wants a foul of B2. B2 was doing nothing other than trying to get up Is this a foul on B2? Can there ever be a situation where this could be a foul on B2? |
|
|||
No foul on B2 under NFHS rules. Foul on B2 under NCAA rules.
If you check old threads, there's at least 2 similar threads in the last little while. And the answer hasn't changed. And it hasn't changed from the same question that was asked on the NFHS forum this morning also. ![]() |
|
|||
No, unless that player interfered with the player with the ball by doing something like extending a leg into the other player's path while trying to get up.
|
|
|||
does the player on the floor (B2) have legal guarding position?
by rule, he is entitled to that space, but if he has legal guarding position when contact is made then the only foul that can be called is a player control foul on A2. from what you describe, I am calling a foul on B2 as he does not have LGP and his contact has caused the ball handler to lose the ball/lose his balance (iow - the defender has gained an advantage as a result of his illegal contact). |
|
|||
Quote:
Wrong...but consistent. ![]() 1st time ever Note the old case play cited and quoted on page 4. This is at least the third time this exact question has come up and been discussed in the last 2 months. |
|
|||
Quote:
JR, just wondering if it matters if the player on the floor is moving (getting up) or lying still? |
|
|||
Quote:
However, remember that there is a difference between having a legal spot on the floor by getting there first without illegally contacting an opponent and having LGP. The NFHS has stated that a player should not be charged with a foul when he has obtained a legal spot on the court even though he doesn't have LGP if an opponent runs into or trips over him. So if you are calling a HS game, you should follow the HS ruling and not impose your own personal sentiments. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Player Leaving the Floor | Toxic Czar | Basketball | 9 | Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:12pm |
Fifth Player runs onto the floor | rainmaker | Basketball | 9 | Wed Feb 14, 2007 05:01pm |
Blood on player and floor | devdog69 | Basketball | 3 | Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:37am |
Player that is on the floor | zanzibar | Basketball | 50 | Sat Jan 22, 2005 06:58am |
Player on the floor | LepTalBldgs | Basketball | 26 | Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:04am |