Thread: Player of floor
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 11, 2010, 11:01am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpea View Post
does the player on the floor (B2) have legal guarding position?

by rule, he is entitled to that space, but if he has legal guarding position when contact is made then the only foul that can be called is a player control foul on A2.

from what you describe, I am calling a foul on B2 as he does not have LGP and his contact has caused the ball handler to lose the ball/lose his balance (iow - the defender has gained an advantage as a result of his illegal contact).
Well you're consistent anyway.

Wrong...but consistent.

1st time ever

Note the old case play cited and quoted on page 4.

This is at least the third time this exact question has come up and been discussed in the last 2 months.
Reply With Quote