This is from the 2001-02 NFHS case book. It has since disappeared but the rule that it is based on (Rule 4-23-1) hasn't changed. Iow there is no valid reason imo that this case play is no longer applicable.
Case Play 10.6.1 SITUATION E: B1 attempts to steal the ball from stationary A1 who is holding the ball. B1 misses the ball and falls to the floor. In dribbling away, A1 contacts B1's leg, loses control of the ball and falls to the floor.
RULING: No infraction or foul has occurred and play continues. Unless B1 made an effort to trip or block A1, he/she is entitled to a position on the court even though it is momentarily lying on the floor after falling down.
Rule 4-23-1 GUARDING: Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent.
As I said, we seem to discuss this almost monthly, with a consensus that the case play is still valid as the rule it is based on hasn't changed. For anybody that disagrees, I suggest contacting your local rules interpreter and give them the sutuation as well as the rule and old case play written above...and get their take on it.
|