![]() |
|
|||
Straddling the pivot foot
Had this a few times over the past few games in both MS and F/JV Boys. Hard to describe but I will try. I also know it is somewhat a HTBT.
B1 and B2 have full court press. As A1 crossed midcourt, picks up dribble. B1 & B2 close in tight. As a result B1 is straddling A1's pivot foot. (A1 has stretched out to pivot around). By rule, is the resulting contact the responsibility of A1 or B1? Each player is entitled to their legally obtain space on the floor, but does A1 space extend out when he stretches out? If B1 does not move forward for a push, can he still occupy the space? If A1 wants to pivot and trips on B1 legs is it travel, block, charge? I feel good about the calls I have made/not made when this happens, but am looking for some insight and possibly some clarification. Most of the time there is a clear choice, but once in a while it is more murky.
__________________
I read this forum almost every day, but rarely post. I have learned a lot!! Thanks to all who contribute! |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Pivot foot | ILMalti | Basketball | 21 | Tue Jul 07, 2009 05:07pm |
Straddling a pivot foot | BayStateRef | Basketball | 12 | Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:36pm |
Non- pivot foot | rngrck | Baseball | 31 | Tue Mar 04, 2008 03:37pm |
pivot foot | ROMANO | Basketball | 5 | Thu Jan 16, 2003 01:39am |
lifting the pivot foot | erikengquist | Basketball | 13 | Wed Nov 13, 2002 03:35pm |