The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2010, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The rule doesn't replace judgment here. If B1 is straddling A1's leg, then any contact resulting from the normal movements of A1 around the pivot will be B1's responsibility. As a defensive stratagem, this move is risky for B.

That doesn't eliminate the possibility of A1 pushing B1 off to gain an advantage, which would be a foul by A1.
I'm not sure I agree. You have B1, standing with two feet on the floor and arms straight up yet you're saying B1 is responsible for contact. Me, I'm putting this one on A1 for gettng themselves into that predicament (as long as B1 didn't get that position illegally). A1 gave up thier right to that space when they stepped away from that vertical space.

Imagine the following play...

A1, without the ball, approaches a standing B1. A1 puts their foot between B1's legs/feet and is passed the ball. Now, are you saying A1 gets to pivot on that foot and make contact with B1 and get B1 called for a foul?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2010, 04:12pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I'm not sure I agree. You have B1, standing with two feet on the floor and arms straight up yet you're saying B1 is responsible for contact. Me, I'm putting this one on A1 for gettng themselves into that predicament (as long as B1 didn't get that position illegally). A1 gave up thier right to that space when they stepped away from that vertical space.

Imagine the following play...

A1, without the ball, approaches a standing B1. A1 puts their foot between B1's legs/feet and is passed the ball. Now, are you saying A1 gets to pivot on that foot and make contact with B1 and get B1 called for a foul?
A violated B's space. Apples and Bananas.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2010, 06:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I'm not sure I agree. You have B1, standing with two feet on the floor and arms straight up yet you're saying B1 is responsible for contact. Me, I'm putting this one on A1 for gettng themselves into that predicament (as long as B1 didn't get that position illegally). A1 gave up thier right to that space when they stepped away from that vertical space.

Imagine the following play...

A1, without the ball, approaches a standing B1. A1 puts their foot between B1's legs/feet and is passed the ball. Now, are you saying A1 gets to pivot on that foot and make contact with B1 and get B1 called for a foul?
That's just it: A1 did NOT step away, but kept the pivot foot planted. That's part of A1's spot on the floor, and B1 entered it.

Your case is backwards, since it has A1 entering B1's space.

I think that there's room for A1 to screw up here, as I suggested originally. A1 is not entitled to do the splits, or to claim more than shoulder width space on the floor. But in many cases the responsibility for contact will be B1's (and that's not a very strong claim).
__________________
Cheers,
mb

Last edited by mbyron; Mon Feb 08, 2010 at 06:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2010, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 111
thanks

Thanks for the feedback and discussion.
__________________
I read this forum almost every day, but rarely post. I have learned a lot!! Thanks to all who contribute!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 08, 2010, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
That's just it: A1 did NOT step away, but kept the pivot foot planted. That's part of A1's spot on the floor, and B1 entered it.

Your case is backwards, since it has A1 entering B1's space.

I think that there's room for A1 to screw up here, as I suggested originally. A1 is not entitled to do the splits, or to claim more than shoulder width space on the floor. But in many cases the responsibility for contact will be B1's (and that's not a very strong claim).
The real question is where is A1' space...over thier foot or over their torso (if not the same)? Several rules place limits on a players space such that a foot extended outside their shoulders is not legal (screening, block/charge, etc.). Why any different for a player with the ball?

If A1's space is over thier pivot foot, does that mean B1 can lean over A1's head/torso and not be guilty of a foul if A1 jumps? I don't think you can have it both ways. They don't get two areas of verticality. Either A1 owns the space above their feet (which one?) or above their torso. There is a lot of ink in favor of it being the latter.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pivot foot ILMalti Basketball 21 Tue Jul 07, 2009 05:07pm
Straddling a pivot foot BayStateRef Basketball 12 Wed Feb 18, 2009 11:36pm
Non- pivot foot rngrck Baseball 31 Tue Mar 04, 2008 03:37pm
pivot foot ROMANO Basketball 5 Thu Jan 16, 2003 01:39am
lifting the pivot foot erikengquist Basketball 13 Wed Nov 13, 2002 03:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1