![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
would love to see them again and tell them. However, I've never seen them before and they don't belong to our association. I looked them up in the directory and they came from about 100 miles from the game site - which was in the city our association bases in. The directory does not indicate whether or not they belong to an association.
What they did just irks me though!
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
This reminds me of a similar experience earlier this season. G/JV, girl approached us before the game to see if it was ok to play with a plastic tip on her finger. Both my partner and I told her no and to see if she could tape it up. Well, she ran back across to tell her Varsity coach who waved us over to explain. We told him the rule, also told him of a November memo from the IHSAA about the rule from elbow down. He told us we didn't know the rule, that she had played 20 games this year with it on and nobody had said anything about it (disingenuous, no way she could have played that many by end of December). We asked the coach if he knew the rule, why did she come to ask us...
Well, at half time of our game, I see the V coach sitting behind the V officials lobbying to have her girl play in the V game (very unprofessional). Lone and behold the V officials let her play with the plastic tip. They told me before their game that it was no more dangerous than a finger. I told them them the rule, the IHSAA memo, and how bad that makes me look. The long and short of it, the problem in Indiana is that coaches vote makes up 100% of post season tournament selection. These guys were protecting their vote. This still pisses me off.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Don't think so. The rules will not allow the girl to play with a plastic tip on her finger, no matter if it's taped, padded or blessed by the Pope. That one is covered definitively under NFHS rule 3-5-2(a) and you don't need anything from your state to rule on that one. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
No doubt. They probably thought there would be no consequences for their misbehavior.
Why not prove them wrong? They got the game from somebody -- talk to that person.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Hearsay?
CP, the Var officials were wrong (from your OP).
The "under the bus" comments were hearsay. Maybe their language was impolitic, maybe they were jerks -- who knows? When they told you that you got it wrong, I would hope that you would explain that you got it right. If you have a coach 'furious' at this call, maybe take a look at your mechanics on the play. Might want to add a little Kabuki theatre to the action. Calling official blows whistle when ball goes OB. You both know what happens next, but you can help others along with something like: "Partner, did you have a touch?" maybe some visual touch indication and questioning look. "No touch... Throw in Violation... Here!" "Good call!" if you are in proximity and have a moment, "Coach, that is a throw in violation, we are going back to the spot."
__________________
-- #thereferee99 |
|
|||
|
the coach clearly knew he shouldn't get ball as he no sooner got his first words out of mouth and said B should get ball at division line. When he said that, I told him the ball was untouched and so it went back to endline.
I don't think he was so much furious at us as he was at the timer for sounding the horn improperly. I think our mechanics were pretty good. Whistle and open hand up. Look to partner - no touch signal. Said "throw-in violation" (but perhaps not loudly enough. But did tell coach the ball was untouched and he heard that ok.) Point to spot and roll ball to partner who pointed to spot and called for Team B. I heard about the varsity officials comments from a person I know professionally and trust. When they told us at the half in dressing room that we got it wrong we disagreed and were trying to explain but they just laughed, dropped their bags and left for the stands. Glad I'm not them!!!
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
|
|
|||
|
Varsity guys never said anything to back their perspective. Just said, and I quote: "you guys screwed the pooch on that throw in call. Ball goes to A" Partner: "I don't think we did - what do you mean?" Them: "you just did, ha ha ha" out the door.
They were courtside when our game was over and we just passed them heading to dressing area. The horn sounded because a substitute had approached the table after partner administered ball for throw-in. When they couldn't get in immediately they returned to bench as horn sounded. The timer was someone I have seen do several games to was not really new to the job. Player was not at table prior to giving ball for throw in. I saw partner look there before giving A1 the ball. I feel good about the way we handled the situation and can't say I would do anything differently. I don't see this as an inadvertant whistle.
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
|
|
|||
|
Did Horn "stop" player A3 ?
Would it have been appropriate to blow the whistle prior to the ball going out of bounds, IF A3 stopped due to the horn and otherwise would have been able to secure the ball?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Nice job handling the sitch....both on and off the court. |
|
|||
|
Sounds pretty good to me.
Quote:
re: V officials.... speechless/stumped. Note to self. Don't ever be THAT guy(s).
__________________
-- #thereferee99 |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Tossing Coin - ASA | ukumpire | Softball | 7 | Sat Nov 26, 2011 01:51pm |
| Tossing the bat | SRW | Softball | 1 | Mon May 01, 2006 03:39pm |
| Tossing a coach | Teigan | Basketball | 5 | Sun Jan 29, 2006 05:15am |
| Inadvertant horn | VeeDubbin | Basketball | 4 | Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:26pm |
| Tossing a coach | akalsey | Baseball | 8 | Mon Jun 21, 2004 12:23pm |