The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 80
4-42 Throw-in;designated spot

Team A has the AP arrow to start the second half. A1 is standing completley out of bounds (designated thrower) next to the referee. The referee sounds his whistle and attempts to hand the ball to A1 but A1 runs on the court (leaving the designated-spot area).The ref places the ball on the gound OOB and begins the 5 second count. A1 never touched the ball OOB. A2 steps out of bounds and completes the throw-in before the 5 second count reaches 5.A2 appeared to be the player who was supposed to inbound for team A. it appeared that he forgot at first. Is this play legal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 08:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Let Me Count The Ways (Elizabeth Barrett Browning) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by RefLarry View Post
Is this play legal?
The thrower shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the
ball has been released on a throw-in pass.

The thrown ball shall not be touched by a teammate of the thrower
while the ball is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane,
except as in 7-5-7.

The thrower shall not be replaced by a teammate after the ball is at
the thrower's disposal, except as in 7-5-7.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefLarry View Post
Team A has the AP arrow to start the second half. A1 is standing completley out of bounds (designated thrower) next to the referee. The referee sounds his whistle and attempts to hand the ball to A1 but A1 runs on the court (leaving the designated-spot area).The ref places the ball on the gound OOB and begins the 5 second count. A1 never touched the ball OOB. A2 steps out of bounds and completes the throw-in before the 5 second count reaches 5.A2 appeared to be the player who was supposed to inbound for team A. it appeared that he forgot at first. Is this play legal?
I believe that it is legal. A1 vacated prior to the ball being placed at the disposal. Therefore, A1 was not the thrower, nor was he a teammate of the thrower who was OOB during the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 08:37am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I believe that it is legal. A1 vacated prior to the ball being placed at the disposal. Therefore, A1 was not the thrower, nor was he a teammate of the thrower who was OOB during the throw-in.
With Nevada on this one. Ball was never at A1's disposal.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
With Nevada on this one. Ball was never at A1's disposal.
So when the ball is placed at A1's disposal, He / She can refuse it and enter the court? Seems like it certainly was at their disposal as the ref was ready and handing it over .
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
So when the ball is placed at A1's disposal, He / She can refuse it and enter the court? Seems like it certainly was at their disposal as the ref was ready and handing it over .
I agree the ball was at A1's disposal prior to returning onto court.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 88
I think this is an either/or situation. Arguments could be made that the ball was at the disposal (handed but not accepted) and that it was not (never touched). I'm thinking it is a HTBT situation: if it was obvious trickery to deceive the opponent into guarding the wrong person I'd tend toward calling it; if it was clearly a brain cramp by some kid being a kid I'd tend to let it slide.

Would it make a difference if the official had bounced the ball (begun his bounce) and the thrower just ignored the ball and changed places while the ball dribbled away?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 07:16pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Good Point ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I believe that it is legal. A1 vacated prior to the ball being placed at the disposal. Therefore, A1 was not the thrower, nor was he a teammate of the thrower who was OOB during the throw-in.
Agree.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
designated throw in spot? fan Basketball 5 Fri Nov 30, 2007 03:46pm
Designated Throw-In Spot 7-6-2 PConley Basketball 2 Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:26pm
Designated spot throw ins Art N Basketball 14 Tue Jan 16, 2001 08:29am
Designated Spot Throw-in Fox40 Basketball 4 Sun Oct 24, 1999 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1