The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 05:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 717
Violation? When?

Team A scores a basket. Team A sets up aggressive man-to-man press. B3 goes out of bounds to inbound the ball. B1, very tightly guarded by A1 appears to be trying to get open by cutting hard to the endline on the opposite side of the lane from where B3 is standing for the throw-in.

B1 is unable to get open and continues over the endline (remember, A1 had just scored). B1 continues to cut toward B3. Eventually, B1 cuts BEHIND B3.

Scenario A: B1 eventually stops to the right of B3. B3 passes the ball to B4 and B1 returns to the court along with B3.

Scenario B: B1 continues on to the court and receives the inbounds pass.

Scenario C: B1 continues on to the court, but does not receive the inbounds pass.

Violation in any/all cases? For what?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 06:12pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Legal in all cases.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Legal in all cases.
I concur Dr.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Got Me!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Team A scores a basket. Team A sets up aggressive man-to-man press. B3 goes out of bounds to inbound the ball. B1, very tightly guarded by A1 appears to be trying to get open by cutting hard to the endline on the opposite side of the lane from where B3 is standing for the throw-in.

B1 is unable to get open and continues over the endline (remember, A1 had just scored). B1 continues to cut toward B3. Eventually, B1 cuts BEHIND B3.

Scenario A: B1 eventually stops to the right of B3. B3 passes the ball to B4 and B1 returns to the court along with B3.

Scenario B: B1 continues on to the court and receives the inbounds pass.

Scenario C: B1 continues on to the court, but does not receive the inbounds pass.

Violation in any/all cases? For what?
Excellent Post! I have to admit I would have blown my whistle when he stepped out of bounds and I would have been wrong, never seen this type of move so hopefully my brain will remember if I ever do.

Last edited by Loudwhistle; Thu Jan 28, 2010 at 07:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Legal in all cases.
Yep. Teammates are allowed to be OOB behind the end line during a throw-in following a made or awarded goal by the opponents.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 09:20pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Yep. Teammates are allowed to be OOB behind the end line during a throw-in following a made or awarded goal by the opponents.
I seem to remember an interesting discussion we had on this "out of bounds topic" where all five players were behind the end line after the basket and then had a jail-break type scenario........
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
I dont understand why this concept is so complicated and difficult for some to either grasp or accept.

after a made basket the team throwing in the ball can have all 5 players out on the endline (period).
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 10:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
I seem to remember an interesting discussion we had on this "out of bounds topic" where all five players were behind the end line after the basket and then had a jail-break type scenario........
We did, I even copied it and gave it to a varsity coach. Haven't seen it happen yet.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 06:32am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
I dont understand why this concept is so complicated and difficult for some to either grasp or accept.

after a made basket the team throwing in the ball can have all 5 players out on the endline (period).
I believe it's because you just never see it done....and when you do, it catches many off guard and then you'll hear the inevitable - "HEY, THEY CAN'T DO THAT!"
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
I dont understand why this concept is so complicated and difficult for some to either grasp or accept.

after a made basket the team throwing in the ball can have all 5 players out on the endline (period).
The difficult part for me would be B 2,3,4 , etc stepping OOB after B1 gets the ball and is OOB for the throw -in . Doesn't seem like that part is specified in 7-5-7 a . from the wording i could conclude either way ,possibly . given that you experienced ref's aren't having a problem with this scenario ,I'd have to conclude that B2,3,4 etc can step out anytime before the 5 seconds has elapsed .
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 10:20am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Upward ref View Post
The difficult part for me would be B 2,3,4 , etc stepping OOB after B1 gets the ball and is OOB for the throw -in . Doesn't seem like that part is specified in 7-5-7 a . from the wording i could conclude either way ,possibly . given that you experienced ref's aren't having a problem with this scenario ,I'd have to conclude that B2,3,4 etc can step out anytime before the 5 seconds has elapsed .
Note that 7-5-7(a) says "teammate(s)"--singular or plural.

And note that rule 9-2-11 states that teammates being OOB after a throw-in begins is only a violation on a designated spot throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 10:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Note that 7-5-7(a) says "teammate(s)"--singular or plural.

And note that rule 9-2-11 states that teammates being OOB after a throw-in begins is only a violation on a designated spot throw-in.
Good point , thanks . filed under my fine print section !
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 88
I would suppose that the obvious caveat with all this movement going on is that you maintain a very observable, visual 5-second count.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Note that 7-5-7(a) says "teammate(s)"--singular or plural.

And note that rule 9-2-11 states that teammates being OOB after a throw-in begins is only a violation on a designated spot throw-in.
I looked in the casebook I have with me (08-09) and 7.5.7a deals with throw-in spots for goaltending and there is no 9.2.11. I don't have my rules book. Is the numbering different from the casebook?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBrules View Post
I looked in the casebook I have with me (08-09) and 7.5.7a deals with throw-in spots for goaltending and there is no 9.2.11. I don't have my rules book. Is the numbering different from the casebook?
2009-2010 NFHS rule book ; rule 7, section 5,article 7 (a) : Any player of the team may make a direct throw in or he / she may pass the ball along the end line to teammate(s) outside the boundary .
2009-2010 case book ; there is no 9.2.11 . <><
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy your way out of violation? hugheske44 Basketball 33 Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:56am
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
FT Violation? Troward Basketball 15 Fri Dec 13, 2002 04:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1