The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Blarge ...Then it Wasn't

Blarge call in boys varsity game last night. Both coaches see the two officials give opposing calls. The two get together and come out of the discussion with a consensus PC call. Obviously the offensive coach wasnt happy.

I'm a relatively new ref so I'm curious as to what might have been discussed to change the blarge call to a PC.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 01:04pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Blarge call in boys varsity game last night. Both coaches see the two officials give opposing calls. The two get together and come out of the discussion with a consensus PC call. Obviously the offensive coach wasnt happy.

I'm a relatively new ref so I'm curious as to what might have been discussed to change the blarge call to a PC.
I cannot tell you what could have been talked about, but if both officials signaled, then they are stuck by rule. They must go with a double foul, it is that simple. Officials kicked the rule and the call.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 169
Should have been a double foul. Charge on A1, Block on B1. Very straightforward.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
I'm a relatively new ref so I'm curious as to what might have been discussed to change the blarge call to a PC.
I can tell you exactly what was discussed: either the right issue (whether defender had LGP) or the wrong one (whether he was "set").

But the discussion is moot, since by rule a blarge must be recorded as a double foul.

Unless you happen to be JAR.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILRef80 View Post
Should have been a double foul. Charge on A1, Block on B1. Very straightforward.
...OK...who gets the ball?
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
What happens on simultaneous fouls?

its treated the same as if you have a double foul on 2 post players
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
What happens on simultaneous fouls?

its treated the same as if you have a double foul on 2 post players
...so you are saying that EVERY blarge is treated the SAME as a double foul on 2 post players?
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
...so you are saying that EVERY blarge is treated the SAME as a double foul on 2 post players?
Yes,

what would you do in the case of the 2 post players getting a double foul? how would you administer the resumption of play?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
yes,

what would you do in the case of the 2 post players getting a double foul? How would you administer the resumption of play?
poi
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 03:09pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
what would you do in the case of the 2 post players getting a double foul?
I would expect to get yelled at by both coaches.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
poi
bingo
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
Blarge call in boys varsity game last night. Both coaches see the two officials give opposing calls. The two get together and come out of the discussion with a consensus PC call. Obviously the offensive coach wasnt happy.

I'm a relatively new ref so I'm curious as to what might have been discussed to change the blarge call to a PC.
More likely they came together, discussed and decided to defer to whoever's primary it was. But it's too late for that, they needed to go with a blarge, as unsavory as that is.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
bingo
Just creating a discussion here...

...so if A1 has released his try for goal, and then crashes into B1...and then both officials have a blarge...are you still treating it exactly like a double foul on 2 post players, while A2 dribbles the ball at the top of the key?
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
Just creating a discussion here...

...so if A1 has released his try for goal, and then crashes into B1...and then both officials have a blarge...are you still treating it exactly like a double foul on 2 post players, while A2 dribbles the ball at the top of the key?
All simoltaneous fouls GO TO POI...nothing complicated about that.

In this instance POI will be jump ball as there was NO TEAM POSSESSION.

I think you are confusing POI with posession arrow. the possession arrow can be the POI. POI means point of interruption. When you have a simultaneous foul you go to the POI and the possession arrow can help you decide who gets possession.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
Just creating a discussion here...

...so if A1 has released his try for goal, and then crashes into B1...and then both officials have a blarge...are you still treating it exactly like a double foul on 2 post players, while A2 dribbles the ball at the top of the key?
Yes, you go to the point of interruption.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NBA blarge Nevadaref Basketball 26 Fri Feb 22, 2008 07:54pm
NBA Blarge All_Heart Basketball 8 Sat Apr 15, 2006 01:29pm
Blarge All_Heart Basketball 14 Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:39pm
Another Blarge Snake~eyes Basketball 6 Fri Jan 13, 2006 03:16pm
Blarge or not? ChuckElias Basketball 9 Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1