![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Basically, if a team gets scored on, and somehow also receives the ball for a throw-in which would be on the end line, then the team may run. It's straight out of the Case Book: 7.5.7 SITUATION E: While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field goal attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (6-7-7 Exception 2) Last edited by Nevadaref; Sun Jan 17, 2010 at 03:22am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It is about not losing the right to run the endline as a result of the other team committing an infraction when the subsequent throwin remains on the endline.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, I believe that what I wrote is an accurate statement for the specific case posed and always has been (at least since the right to run was introduced). In order to prove this to you, I must ask you to recall that prior to 2001-02 a team lost the right to run the end line when the scoring team committed a violation or a foul immediately following the goal or during the subsequent throw-in. The comment which accompanied the rule change that season made it clear that the rule change was for a foul or violation AFTER the score, not before as was the case presented here. Therefore, we must conclude that that rule change did not alter the proper administration for a play in which the scoring team fouled or violated BEFORE the goal, ie with the try in flight. I believe that allowing the non-scoring team to run the end line was proper in that case even prior to the 2001-02 season. Therefore, the reason which you cite, "It is about not losing the right to run" cannot be the correct rationale because the rule change which permits a team to retain that right doesn't actually apply to this situation. It is specifically for situations in which the foul or violation occurs following the goal. Basically, when things happen in this particular order the committee had to make a choice of which rule took priority--the designated-spot throw-in for the foul or the right to run for the non-scoring team. I believe that they make the correct choice, as detailed in 7.5.7 Sit E, in allowing the offended team to run just as they would have had the opponent not fouled on the play. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Looking for clarification | Rufus | Baseball | 12 | Thu Apr 23, 2009 06:55am |
| Clarification ? | golfdesigner | Football | 5 | Mon Jul 23, 2007 08:29am |
| Need a little clarification | David B | Baseball | 22 | Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:05am |
| Clarification | eeyink | Basketball | 13 | Wed Mar 12, 2003 02:25pm |
| Clarification | jackgil | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 21, 2000 09:45am |