![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
I'm out of town and don't have my books with me.
In my game this morning, I was the lead on a play. A1 shoots a 3. While the ball is in the air, A2 fouls B1 underneath the basket. The ball goes in. Was I right not to count the basket on this play? |
|
|||
No, you were not.
Only a PC foul causes a shot in flight to become dead.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
I had this play last night. I counted the 3 and then awarded the other team the ball at the spot...which was wrong. I should have given them the run of the end line which they would have had if there had been no foul.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Quote:
Count the basket, report the foul, award the ball to Team B with the ability to run the endline. Right? |
|
|||
Correct, unless bonus FTs should be awarded.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Note that if A2's foul had been nearer a sideline, then the throw-in spot would be at the sideline (and not running the end-line) |
|
|||
In my play, the foul occurred in the paint. Shooter's teammate shoved opponent so opponent was under the rim and would have had no chance at a rebound had the attempt been unsuccessful. I rewarded, in a sense, the shooting team as their opponents were not in the bonus.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Could you reference this to the rulebook? I'm just wondering why you would allow the team to run the end line if they were fouled before a made basket. I would understand if it would have been after the basket was made and a foul occurred to allow the team to run the end line, but can't understand why you would allow the team to run if the basket wasn't even made yet before the foul occurred.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Basically, if a team gets scored on, and somehow also receives the ball for a throw-in which would be on the end line, then the team may run. It's straight out of the Case Book: 7.5.7 SITUATION E: While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3 fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field goal attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (6-7-7 Exception 2) Last edited by Nevadaref; Sun Jan 17, 2010 at 03:22am. |
|
|||
Quote:
It is about not losing the right to run the endline as a result of the other team committing an infraction when the subsequent throwin remains on the endline.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Looking for clarification | Rufus | Baseball | 12 | Thu Apr 23, 2009 06:55am |
Clarification ? | golfdesigner | Football | 5 | Mon Jul 23, 2007 08:29am |
Need a little clarification | David B | Baseball | 22 | Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:05am |
Clarification | eeyink | Basketball | 13 | Wed Mar 12, 2003 02:25pm |
Clarification | jackgil | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 21, 2000 09:45am |