View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 17, 2010, 03:20am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Could you reference this to the rulebook? I'm just wondering why you would allow the team to run the end line if they were fouled before a made basket. I would understand if it would have been after the basket was made and a foul occurred to allow the team to run the end line, but can't understand why you would allow the team to run if the basket wasn't even made yet before the foul occurred.
Because the goal being successful is the final action which happens on the play. The ball does not become dead on the foul as there is a try in flight, so when the try goes through the basket, that makes the ball dead and ends the play.

Basically, if a team gets scored on, and somehow also receives the ball for a throw-in which would be on the end line, then the team may run.

It's straight out of the Case Book:

7.5.7 SITUATION E: While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3
fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field
goal attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B
will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (6-7-7 Exception 2)

Last edited by Nevadaref; Sun Jan 17, 2010 at 03:22am.
Reply With Quote