The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2010, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
I had this play last night. I counted the 3 and then awarded the other team the ball at the spot...which was wrong. I should have given them the run of the end line which they would have had if there had been no foul.
So summarizing what I should have done...

Count the basket, report the foul, award the ball to Team B with the ability to run the endline. Right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2010, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
So summarizing what I should have done...

Count the basket, report the foul, award the ball to Team B with the ability to run the endline. Right?
Correct, unless bonus FTs should be awarded.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2010, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 17, 2010, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
So summarizing what I should have done...

Count the basket, report the foul, award the ball to Team B with the ability to run the endline. Right?
Correct in your case.

Note that if A2's foul had been nearer a sideline, then the throw-in spot would be at the sideline (and not running the end-line)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 17, 2010, 10:57am
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Correct in your case.

Note that if A2's foul had been nearer a sideline, then the throw-in spot would be at the sideline (and not running the end-line)
In my play, the foul occurred in the paint. Shooter's teammate shoved opponent so opponent was under the rim and would have had no chance at a rebound had the attempt been unsuccessful. I rewarded, in a sense, the shooting team as their opponents were not in the bonus.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for clarification Rufus Baseball 12 Thu Apr 23, 2009 06:55am
Clarification ? golfdesigner Football 5 Mon Jul 23, 2007 08:29am
Need a little clarification David B Baseball 22 Mon Apr 26, 2004 10:05am
Clarification eeyink Basketball 13 Wed Mar 12, 2003 02:25pm
Clarification jackgil Basketball 9 Mon Feb 21, 2000 09:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1