The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 07:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Good gosh, unfortunately, the interp that Nevada cited fits this play very closely from the standpoint that a) there was an obvious timing error and b) the throw-in did not end before the horn. But, wow, this situation could certainly open up the possibility of ultimate "homer" by the home timer if this was the home team's throw-in.

In a way, this is an inadvertent horn. Inadvertent horns are to be ignored by the players. Players should know that the clock does not start until the ball is touched. Since the ball clearly was not touched, the players should have kept playing.

Fairness of the game: Throw-in pass made by Team A, inadvertent horn (ignore horn), ball goes out of bounds untouched, throw-in to Team B at spot of Team A's throw in.

Rules interp cited by Nevada goes against this. But, inadvertent horns are to be ignored. In this case, if the horn is ignored, the ball went out of bounds untouched. 1 second is put on the clock and ball goes to Team B.
For the sake of discussion let's just take the horn out of it altogether. Let's assume that rather than a second left there are 5 seconds left when A inbounds and the official notices that the clock started while the ball is sailing through the air to nobody and towards out of bounds. Again in this case the play that Nevada sites would have you give the ball back to A due to the timing error. I don't like it one bit, but I believe the case play supports it.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 07:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Good gosh, unfortunately, the interp that Nevada cited fits this play very closely from the standpoint that a) there was an obvious timing error and b) the throw-in did not end before the horn. But, wow, this situation could certainly open up the possibility of ultimate "homer" by the home timer if this was the home team's throw-in.

In a way, this is an inadvertent horn. Inadvertent horns are to be ignored by the players. Players should know that the clock does not start until the ball is touched. Since the ball clearly was not touched, the players should have kept playing.

Fairness of the game: Throw-in pass made by Team A, inadvertent horn (ignore horn), ball goes out of bounds untouched, throw-in to Team B at spot of Team A's throw in.

Rules interp cited by Nevada goes against this. But, inadvertent horns are to be ignored. In this case, if the horn is ignored, the ball went out of bounds untouched. 1 second is put on the clock and ball goes to Team B.
The flaw in your logic is that this is the period-ending horn sounding. This specific signal is the one used by the timer to indicate the expiration of playing time in a quarter or extra period. It is unique in the rules and cannot be ignored. The significance of its sounding is not akin to that of the scorer signaling the officials for their attention to some matter such as subs, a player illegally in the game, a scoring error, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 07:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
For the sake of discussion let's just take the horn out of it altogether. Let's assume that rather than a second left there are 5 seconds left when A inbounds and the official notices that the clock started while the ball is sailing through the air to nobody and towards out of bounds. Again in this case the play that Nevada sites would have you give the ball back to A due to the timing error. I don't like it one bit, but I believe the case play supports it.
The way that you have designed this scenario, it would only be true that Team A would have to be given the ball back and the clock reset, IF an official sounded his whistle to interrupt the game action. That is because the game would have to resume at the point of interruption and that point occurred during a throw-in for Team A.

However, if the official was able to allow the throw-in to finish and the violation to occur before the horn and without having to sound his whistle, then the clock could be reset and the ball could be awarded to Team B. The timing error was properly noticed by the official and there was definite knowledge to fix it, but play was not interrupted and the game action which took place stands. Consider this case book ruling, which does NOT state to negate the throw-in or the subsequent violation and award the ball back to Team A.

5.10.1 SITUATION D: There are six seconds left on the clock in the fourth quarter
and the ball is out of bounds in the possession of Team A. The throw-in by A1
touches the referee on the court and then goes across the court and out of
bounds. The timer permits two seconds to run off the clock. What recourse does
the coach of either team have in such situation? RULING: Either coach may step
to the scorer’s table and request a 60-second time-out and have the referee come
to the table. The coach is permitted to do this under provisions of the coach’s
rule. The referee shall come to the sideline and confer with one or both coaches
and the timer about the matter; and if the referee has definite knowledge that
there were six seconds on the clock when the ball was awarded to Team A for the
throw-in, it is the responsibility of the referee to have the two seconds put back
on the clock. The timer and scorer and the other official(s) can be used by the
referee to gain definite information. If there is no mistake or if it cannot be
rectified, the requesting team will be charged with a 60-second time-out. (5-11-
3 Exception b; 5-8-4; 10-5-1c)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The way that you have designed this scenario, it would only be true that Team A would have to be given the ball back and the clock reset, IF an official sounded his whistle to interrupt the game action. That is because the game would have to resume at the point of interruption and that point occurred during a throw-in for Team A.

However, if the official was able to allow the throw-in to finish and the violation to occur before the horn and without having to sound his whistle, then the clock could be reset and the ball could be awarded to Team B. The timing error was properly noticed by the official and there was definite knowledge to fix it, but play was not interrupted and the game action which took place stands. Consider this case book ruling, which does NOT state to negate the throw-in or the subsequent violation and award the ball back to Team A.
I was R on a game earlier in the year with a combination of these two instances. 1.2 seconds left in 3rd period, close game. Team A with throw-in under opponent's basket. Threw a deep pass that headed out of bounds untouched. Whistle sounded for violation immediately before/simultaneous with horn sounding.

Obviously we put 1.2 back on the clock. We then awarded B the throw-in at the original spot due to the throw-in violation.

Only real question was whether the violation occurred before the horn sounded. Calling official confirmed it did. Pretty easy administration, and both coaches even understood and accepted the explanation.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
I also tried to respond yesterday and got an error, didn't come back to post it again:

One of the things to remember about this ruling and its relation to "fairness" is that, like many other corrections of errors (including correctable errors), one team is often going to end up feeling shafted. It's often going to make an official feel as if the rule they must enforce is unfair for the situation.

But...there is no way to know which team is getting shafted until the error actually occurs. Perhaps A has broken free in this situation for an easy layup and clear game winner when the horn sounds early. A gets hosed. Perhaps A is in the process of clearly throwing the ball away and now they get to try again. B gets hosed.

The rules can't be written to be applied differently in these situations, and thus "it is what it is." Correctable errors are enforced in such a way that both teams have incentive to have the errors corrected before they occur. Bookkeeping and timing errors may seem to benefit one team if they aren't corrected, but can have significant negative impact on that team if discovered and corrected later.

So, we have what is a very clear way to correct regrettable situations. You just have to accept that many times, one team is going to feel it was unfair.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The way that you have designed this scenario, it would only be true that Team A would have to be given the ball back and the clock reset, IF an official sounded his whistle to interrupt the game action. That is because the game would have to resume at the point of interruption and that point occurred during a throw-in for Team A.

However, if the official was able to allow the throw-in to finish and the violation to occur before the horn and without having to sound his whistle, then the clock could be reset and the ball could be awarded to Team B. The timing error was properly noticed by the official and there was definite knowledge to fix it, but play was not interrupted and the game action which took place stands. Consider this case book ruling, which does NOT state to negate the throw-in or the subsequent violation and award the ball back to Team A.

5.10.1 SITUATION D: There are six seconds left on the clock in the fourth quarter
and the ball is out of bounds in the possession of Team A. The throw-in by A1
touches the referee on the court and then goes across the court and out of
bounds. The timer permits two seconds to run off the clock. What recourse does
the coach of either team have in such situation? RULING: Either coach may step
to the scorer’s table and request a 60-second time-out and have the referee come
to the table. The coach is permitted to do this under provisions of the coach’s
rule. The referee shall come to the sideline and confer with one or both coaches
and the timer about the matter; and if the referee has definite knowledge that
there were six seconds on the clock when the ball was awarded to Team A for the
throw-in, it is the responsibility of the referee to have the two seconds put back
on the clock. The timer and scorer and the other official(s) can be used by the
referee to gain definite information. If there is no mistake or if it cannot be
rectified, the requesting team will be charged with a 60-second time-out. (5-11-
3 Exception b; 5-8-4; 10-5-1c)
Good call. You'd just have to hope that the official would not blow the whistle out of habit/inadvertently/whatever you want to call it upon seeing the clock starting pre-maturely....which is why it is best to have a slow whistle
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End of Game Situation BLS Basketball 6 Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:09pm
Game Situation radwaste50 Baseball 9 Sun May 08, 2005 10:34pm
end of game situation? roadking Basketball 8 Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:14am
Big Game Situation RookieDude Basketball 3 Sat Dec 25, 2004 01:26am
End of Game Situation BigGref Basketball 8 Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1