The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2010, 12:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
End of game situation

There is 1 second remaining in the 4th quarter. Team A is up by 1 point. Team A is inbounding the ball in their front court. They throw the throw in pass deep into their back court. As the ball is in the air on the throw in, the horn sounds and the players assume the game is over and do not go after the ball which rolls out of bounds untouched. (Clock operator started the clock before the ball was touched inbounds.) Is the clock reset to 1 second? Is this ruled a throw in violation by team A? Thus, would team B be given the ball for a throw in at the same spot team A violated?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2010, 12:42am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
If I recall correctly, this situation is not definitively covered in the rules. I would lean on 2-3, put the one second back on the clock,give the ball back to A at the same spot, and sentence the timekeeper to a month at chseagle table camp.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2010, 12:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If I recall correctly, this situation is not definitively covered in the rules. I would lean on 2-3, put the one second back on the clock,give the ball back to A at the same spot, and sentence the timekeeper to a month at chseagle table camp.
It's covered now.

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10

SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2010, 01:06am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It's covered now.

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10

SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
Oh, yeah, now I remember. Like some others, part of this interp is not on my list of favorites.

Likely tenths of a second? And what if they are not displayed?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2010, 01:21am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Likely tenths of a second? And what if they are not displayed?

No, no, no, no, no JAR... please don't open that can of worms again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2010, 01:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
At least the situation in which the premature clock start/timing error is recognized before the throw-in pass is touched is now definitely covered, and that is what the OP inquired about.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Oh, yeah, now I remember. Like some others, part of this interp is not on my list of favorites.

Likely tenths of a second? And what if they are not displayed?
Sounds a lot like the NBA 3/10ths rule - except the NBA ruling gives an actual guideline for what to do.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter View Post
Sounds a lot like the NBA 3/10ths rule - except the NBA ruling gives an actual guideline for what to do.
I'd be all for a rule change that states that, in the last minute when 10ths are displayed, that any time the clock is not properly started when it should have been that a minimum of 0.3 seconds must be taken from the time. If definite knowledge of the time (a count that reached 1+, etc) exists, then that amount is removed from the clock.

Anything that would give a definitive way of handling a situation would be better than "likely tenths of a second" would be better than the current situation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 13, 2010, 06:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
What if you have a situation similar to OP, but to add a twist...assume A1 has ball for throw-in on endline following made basket by B with Team A up by a point and one second left (assume we are coming back from a time out so the clock is stopped). A1 throws a long pass towards A's frontcourt and A2 who had broken towards frontcourt then breaks hard for backcourt so that the pass is sailing towards nobody. While the pass is in the air heading out of bounds the horn goes off. Then what? In OP had the horn not gone off someone on team A likely touches the ball and the game is over, so fine you give A the ball back and they try again with a second on the clock, however, in this situation it is likely nobody would have touched it and the ball would have gone to Team B for throw-in right under their basket with a second left....the answer has to be the same as with the OP, but in this case the timer just gave team A quite a gift which sucks.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 12, 2010, 07:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
... and sentence the timekeeper to a month at chseagle table camp.
Heh!
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End of Game Situation BLS Basketball 6 Wed Jan 06, 2010 09:09pm
Game Situation radwaste50 Baseball 9 Sun May 08, 2005 10:34pm
end of game situation? roadking Basketball 8 Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:14am
Big Game Situation RookieDude Basketball 3 Sat Dec 25, 2004 01:26am
End of Game Situation BigGref Basketball 8 Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1