![]() |
|
|
|||
First time, and it happened twice
Tonight, Girls JV. First time ever this has happened.
After warning horn goes off for a Time-Out, visiting team sends a player to the table to sub in. I noticed this happened when I was getting ready to hand the ball in for a throw-in. I turn around to tell the coach that after the first horn goes off (warning horn) the table is closed for any substitutions. With 10 seconds left in the close game, a Time-Out is granted and right after the first horn goes off I see a player going to the table to check in from the same team as above. I tell her that she has to wait so the coach pulls her and puts her back on the bench as she probably wasn't going to get in at all. Rulebook still in the car, too lazy to get it but did I get this right? It was one of those moments where something hardly happens, but when it does the rule pops out of your sub-conscious mind. I believe I did look this up after seeing it happen in an NCAA game where the official stopped the player from coming in after the warning horn goes off. |
|
|||
Quote:
IMHO, you learn a lot more here at the forum if you have your rule book and case book by your side. I find that if I follow the thread using my books, either to come up with the correct rule application of a poster's sitch; or to follow the citations that the vets post in their replies, I learn the rule, the interpertation of the rule, and the proper application of the rule more thoroughly. I tend to retain it better (especially in the heat of game), as opposed to rote memory. I think this is a good approach, if like me, you're a newer official. |
|
|||
Quote:
And I know some of us only knows when someone's joking about anything when he/she puts in an emote (i.e. ![]() |
|
|||
Yes, you are. In another thread you posted your age and you can't have been working HS level ball for more than five years.
Just accept it, ACE. You are still young and learning. |
|
|||
Quote:
A substitute who desires to enter shall report to the scorer, giving his/her number. a. Between quarters, at halftime and during a time-out, the substitute must report or be in position to report to the scorer, prior to the warning signal which is sounded 15 seconds before the end of the intermission or the time-out. So I was correct then. Thanks TJ. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
Since the OP has been answered, mind if I branch the thread off into a related topic regarding time-outs and subsitutions?
This thread is timely, I was just reading through the section in Rule 10 about substitutes entering without reporting and had a question regarding our duties during a time out. I don't recall this being mentioned in my training so I'll go ahead and ask a newbie question, should we be taking a note of who the players are during a time-out and that a sub is not sent in without having them report? If so, is this something you pre-game with your partner(s)?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the coach causes a fuss about it, call an official over. More than likely the official will ask you if the sub checked in before the warning horn...all ya gotta say is no and the official should take care of it. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
This way the coach can't say anything? |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
This hadn't happened to me in a long time | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 14 | Wed Jan 07, 2009 04:29pm |
Can't remember the last time this happened | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 28 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 05:52pm |
Whatever happened to "Whatever happened to class"? | UmpJM | Baseball | 7 | Sat Jul 30, 2005 03:49pm |
This really happened - not! | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 20 | Sun Mar 20, 2005 10:28pm |
Could have happened..... | Bandit | Softball | 2 | Fri Apr 19, 2002 11:51am |