![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
And another thing
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If a team has player control, they also have team control, by rule. But a team can have team control but not have player control, also by rule. So the simplest way to state what is necessary for an official to grant a time-out request is exactly what CMHCoachNRef said above but add to it "or the ball is dead" to cover all situations. From the original post, the call is a straight judgment call. If you judged that the ball came to rest in the hand of the player while tipping the ball, it's a backcourt violation because player control and thus team control was established in the frontcourt. If you judge that the ball didn't come to rest and therefore player/team control was never established in the front court, then it's play on. And the only person that can make the judgment is the official that is responsible for making the call. It's always a HTBT call. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Some people have trouble determining when PC exists. Many of these people do not have trouble determining whether a TO would be granted. Once it's pointed out that the criteria are the same, the confusion on the initial question goes away. If that logic doesn't work for you, well, it doesn't work for you. :shrug: That doesn't make it a bad teaching method (for others). |
|
|||
|
Same sort of situation: A1 shoots. Ball hits rim and bounces long towards the corner. A2 chases it down, jumps in the air while going out of bounds and grabs ball with two hands and throws back over his head (A2 was looking in opposite direction). Basketball goes into the BC where A3 is the first to touch?
What do you call? BC because the throw established team control? Or was it not team control? |
|
|||
|
Seems Clearer Now
This clearly fulfills the definition of player control ("holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds"). Thus, clear backcourt violation.
The only difference between this and the situation which brought up the question was that in that situation the player "pushed the ball with one hand" into the backcourt, i.e., more than a tap. It's becoming more clear that for the push to have taken place, albeit with one hand, player control had to have occurred. Thus, backcourt violation as well. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Is it violation when your pass hit the oponent head? | mendi | Basketball | 9 | Thu Aug 06, 2009 07:57am |
| Intentional grounding with tipped pass | Barcelona | Football | 10 | Sat Nov 03, 2007 09:39am |
| Tipped Ball | Ed Maeder | Basketball | 26 | Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:44am |
| Mechanics on a tipped pass | alabamabluezebra | Football | 6 | Wed Aug 17, 2005 02:27am |
| when to tag up on a tipped catch.... | deeno27 | Softball | 5 | Wed Aug 21, 2002 09:44pm |