![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Read my post and the initial post. Other than trying to stir up trouble, what would your point be???????
|
|
|||
More than a Tip
Had one last Friday where I judged a situation "more than a tip"; I was confident in my call, but seek your verification.
In an attempt to rebound a missed shot, rebounder A1, from in front of his own basket, clearly "more than tipped" the rebound when he, while still in the air, with one hand pushed the ball back in an attempt to get it to A2 positioned near the top of the key. The ball went over A2's head and into his backcourt, after which A2 went and picked the ball up in his backcourt. I whistled a backcourt violation, deeming A1's push of the ball to be player control, thus team control. Given the definition of player control ("...when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds"), was I correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
If, when he "pushed" the ball, you thought it came to rest in his hand, then you probably had a "hold".
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
While Watching Another "A Christmas Story"
Quote:
Having reviewed the definition of player control as a result of this thread, I was beginning to question the call. A momentary in-motion "rest" did occur -- again, he "more than tapped" the ball-he pushed it -- which seems to have fulfilled the definition. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I understand and appreciate your question. The actual time during which I deemed there to have been player control was too brief to have granted a request for a timeout.
|
|
|||
Quote:
See the point? |
|
|||
Not True!
There is no timing aspect to player control. By that I mean there is no length of time you have to have player control for there to be team control. For example, on the tip off if B2 gathers the ball in both hands and then immediately loses the ball out of bounds, what are you going to do with the arrow? Hopefully, you'll point it toward A's basket and give the ball to Team A for a throw-in. During the time the player had the ball you probably would not have been able to recognize and grant a timeout request. Does that still mean player control and thus team control did not exist? No! Team control was established even if it was for only a second.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Again Not True!
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree that in practice, it would be difficult to request and be granted a TO in this brief instance, but it has happened. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Is it violation when your pass hit the oponent head? | mendi | Basketball | 9 | Thu Aug 06, 2009 07:57am |
Intentional grounding with tipped pass | Barcelona | Football | 10 | Sat Nov 03, 2007 09:39am |
Tipped Ball | Ed Maeder | Basketball | 26 | Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:44am |
Mechanics on a tipped pass | alabamabluezebra | Football | 6 | Wed Aug 17, 2005 02:27am |
when to tag up on a tipped catch.... | deeno27 | Softball | 5 | Wed Aug 21, 2002 09:44pm |