The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   BC violation on tipped pass by offense (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56017-bc-violation-tipped-pass-offense.html)

CoachJW Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:09am

BC violation on tipped pass by offense
 
Sideline inbound play. While in the front court, an offensive player makes contact with the ball on the inbounds pass and tips it into the back court, where he recovers it. BC violation?

just another ref Sun Dec 20, 2009 12:13am

No. In the play you describe team control was not established in the frontcourt.

BillyMac Sun Dec 20, 2009 08:27am

Who You Gonna Call ??? Mythbusters ...
 
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.

CMHCoachNRef Sun Dec 20, 2009 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachJW (Post 644264)
Sideline inbound play. While in the front court, an offensive player makes contact with the ball on the inbounds pass and tips it into the back court, where he recovers it. BC violation?

The only way I could see this being properly called a backcourt violation would be if the official deemed that said "tip" was the start of a dribble. If both feet were in the front court when the dribble started, then the touch for the second dribble in the backcourt would have constituted a violation.

Such an interpretation by the official would require that the official be certain that the dribble had actually started as opposed to a bat or tap of the ball without actually controlling the ball in the case of the dribble.

Certainly if the ball had bounced far away from the "tipper" this should not be considered the start of the dribble -- it bounced twice before being touched again, etc.

CoachJW Thu Dec 24, 2009 12:17am

Thanks I appreciate the feedback.

fullor30 Thu Dec 24, 2009 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef (Post 644285)
The only way I could see this being properly called a backcourt violation would be if the official deemed that said "tip" was the start of a dribble. If both feet were in the front court when the dribble started, then the touch for the second dribble in the backcourt would have constituted a violation.

Such an interpretation by the official would require that the official be certain that the dribble had actually started as opposed to a bat or tap of the ball without actually controlling the ball in the case of the dribble.

Certainly if the ball had bounced far away from the "tipper" this should not be considered the start of the dribble -- it bounced twice before being touched again, etc.

Why make OP something it's not? The situation is that it was tipped.

CMHCoachNRef Thu Dec 24, 2009 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 645618)
Why make OP something it's not? The situation is that it was tipped.

Read my post and the initial post. Other than trying to stir up trouble, what would your point be???????

Nevadaref Thu Dec 24, 2009 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef (Post 645619)
...trying to stir up trouble...

http://www.vpsingles.com/pics/stir.gif

Freddy Thu Dec 24, 2009 09:43pm

More than a Tip
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 645618)
. . . The situation is that it was tipped.

Had one last Friday where I judged a situation "more than a tip"; I was confident in my call, but seek your verification.
In an attempt to rebound a missed shot, rebounder A1, from in front of his own basket, clearly "more than tipped" the rebound when he, while still in the air, with one hand pushed the ball back in an attempt to get it to A2 positioned near the top of the key. The ball went over A2's head and into his backcourt, after which A2 went and picked the ball up in his backcourt.
I whistled a backcourt violation, deeming A1's push of the ball to be player control, thus team control.
Given the definition of player control ("...when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds"), was I correct?

Mark Padgett Thu Dec 24, 2009 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 645640)
Given the definition of player control ("...when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds"), was I correct?

Was he holding it? Was he dribbling it? If so, you were correct. If not, you were not correct. It's your call (pun intended).

If, when he "pushed" the ball, you thought it came to rest in his hand, then you probably had a "hold".

Freddy Thu Dec 24, 2009 10:00pm

While Watching Another "A Christmas Story"
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 645642)
If, when he "pushed" the ball, you thought it came to rest in his hand, then you probably had a "hold".

In the midst of the action, I never considered, "Did the ball come to rest in his hand?" The immediate thought I had was, "Hey, he controlled that ball when he pushed it back toward his backcourt."
Having reviewed the definition of player control as a result of this thread, I was beginning to question the call. A momentary in-motion "rest" did occur -- again, he "more than tapped" the ball-he pushed it -- which seems to have fulfilled the definition.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 24, 2009 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 645640)
Had one last Friday where I judged a situation "more than a tip"; I was confident in my call, but seek your verification.
In an attempt to rebound a missed shot, rebounder A1, from in front of his own basket, clearly "more than tipped" the rebound when he, while still in the air, with one hand pushed the ball back in an attempt to get it to A2 positioned near the top of the key. The ball went over A2's head and into his backcourt, after which A2 went and picked the ball up in his backcourt.
I whistled a backcourt violation, deeming A1's push of the ball to be player control, thus team control.
Given the definition of player control ("...when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds"), was I correct?

If A1, one of his teammates, or his Head Coach had requested a time-out while the hand was in contact with the ball would you have granted it?

Freddy Thu Dec 24, 2009 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 645647)
If A1, one of his teammates, or his Head Coach had requested a time-out while the hand was in contact with the ball would you have granted it?

I understand and appreciate your question. The actual time during which I deemed there to have been player control was too brief to have granted a request for a timeout.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 24, 2009 10:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 645665)
I understand and appreciate your question. The actual time during which I deemed there to have been player control was too brief to have granted a request for a timeout.

Then BY YOUR DETERMINATION player control was not established by A1. Therefore, there was no team control, so you made an incorrect decision in calling a backcourt violation.

See the point?

Adam Fri Dec 25, 2009 02:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 645665)
I understand and appreciate your question. The actual time during which I deemed there to have been player control was too brief to have granted a request for a timeout.

The point is not whether it was feasible to actually have requested a TO during the short window of time; the question asked is wether there was such a window.

Consider this, if A's coach is requesting TO, repeatedly, during this process, would you have granted it. The point of Nevada's question is simple, unless there was a window, no matter how brief, during which a TO could be granted, then you never had player control. Without player control, there is no team control, and thus no BC violation.

A controlled tap does not give you player control. If he grabbed it and threw it, then you were right.

On this play, I'd err on the side of no control.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1