![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Again Not True!
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I agree that in practice, it would be difficult to request and be granted a TO in this brief instance, but it has happened. |
|
|||
|
Not all.
Quote:
As to the OP, if I see a controlled pass by a player in the air, I'm going to interpret this as control. In order for a player to make a pass like this the ball had to come to rest in his hand, thereby, meeting the definition of control. He doesn't have to have two hands on the ball for control to be established.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Say What ???
Quote:
Wow. If there ever was a job for the Mythbusters, this is certainly the job: The head coach may request and be granted a timeout if his or her player is holding or dribbling the ball, or during a dead ball period.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Calm Down Billy Mac and re-read what I said
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
And another thing
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
As Billy pointed out, team control continues until the ball becomes dead, a shot is released, or the other team gains player control. Let me spell this out again. In order to have a BC violation in the OP, PLAYER control has to have existed with the pass rather than just a tip, because player control estalblishes team control. Everytime. Team control is really all that's required for a BC violation, but team control can never exist until player control has existed. Player control is the same thing that's required for a TO (except throwins, free throws and dead balls), so the principal is the same. Exactly the same. Whether you'd grant a TO if a coach was requesting it while A1 briefly controlled it is, really, a topic for another thread. My point is, the rule is the same for both, so the theory works. Every time.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Still Confused By Theme Of Post ???
Quote:
During an an "uncontrolled" pass, a fumble, a muff, a pass tipped by the defense, a ball dribbled off a foot, an interrupted dribble, etc., there is still team control until the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal, an opponent secures control, or the ball becomes dead.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Is it violation when your pass hit the oponent head? | mendi | Basketball | 9 | Thu Aug 06, 2009 07:57am |
| Intentional grounding with tipped pass | Barcelona | Football | 10 | Sat Nov 03, 2007 09:39am |
| Tipped Ball | Ed Maeder | Basketball | 26 | Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:44am |
| Mechanics on a tipped pass | alabamabluezebra | Football | 6 | Wed Aug 17, 2005 02:27am |
| when to tag up on a tipped catch.... | deeno27 | Softball | 5 | Wed Aug 21, 2002 09:44pm |