![]() |
|
|||
FIBA EXAM Question
I am trying to wrap my head around a question in the FIBA rules exam presented by CABO this year. I thought I would post it here and allow for some discussion. You don't have to agree or disagree with the answer jsut looking to discuss.
Q: A1 and B1 commit a double foul. B1's foul is judged as disqualifying. Shall free throws be awarded to A1? Y or N (Answer is N) From the exam administrator I received the following regarding the logic. In FIBA rules all DOuble fouls cancel and no free throws shall be awarded. Art 35.2 This is how I will administer should the situation ever come up by the way. Now here is my problem in the learning process. The question (stupid if you ask me) does not say both fouls are equal and in FIBA a disqualifying foul Art 37 (flagrantly unsproting action) has a different penalty than a personal foul. So, I can understand cancelling equal penalties but this was not the case as I understand the question. Also Art 42.2.2 supports the cancelling of equal penalties and then administering what is left over. Dang what am I missing in this.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Another question for those who officiate FIBA | Jay R | Basketball | 5 | Sun Dec 14, 2008 07:01pm |
FIBA rules question | jallen | Basketball | 2 | Sun Oct 19, 2008 04:01pm |
FIBA Question | Teigan | Basketball | 17 | Tue Nov 20, 2007 05:01pm |
FIBA Question | Odd Duck | Basketball | 23 | Fri Nov 02, 2007 05:46pm |
Question for FIBA officials | Jimgolf | Basketball | 11 | Mon Sep 04, 2006 03:50pm |