The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaCoach View Post
BUT, check out Case Book, page 73, "Dribble Rule" 9.5 situation and see if that allows player to throw the ball off his own backboard. This is what has caused my question.
I see why you're asking. The rationale given in that case ("a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s 'equipment' and may be used") is unrelated to the issue of whether A1 has made a try.

Nothing in the definition of 'dribble' (4-15) or 'illegal dribble' (9-5) supports this rationale. So where is it?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy your way out of violation? hugheske44 Basketball 33 Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:56am
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
Violation or not secondyear Basketball 3 Tue Apr 24, 2001 09:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1