The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Off the glass

I agree with you, I thought the only way he could dribble again if he actually tries a shot, which hits backboard or rim and then he can rebound the ball and dribble again. BUT, check out Case Book, page 73, "Dribble Rule" 9.5 situation and see if that allows player to throw the ball off his own backboard. This is what has caused my question.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaCoach View Post
BUT, check out Case Book, page 73, "Dribble Rule" 9.5 situation and see if that allows player to throw the ball off his own backboard. This is what has caused my question.
I see why you're asking. The rationale given in that case ("a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s 'equipment' and may be used") is unrelated to the issue of whether A1 has made a try.

Nothing in the definition of 'dribble' (4-15) or 'illegal dribble' (9-5) supports this rationale. So where is it?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I see why you're asking. The rationale given in that case ("a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s 'equipment' and may be used") is unrelated to the issue of whether A1 has made a try.

Nothing in the definition of 'dribble' (4-15) or 'illegal dribble' (9-5) supports this rationale. So where is it?
It just is.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kansas
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I see why you're asking. The rationale given in that case ("a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s 'equipment' and may be used") is unrelated to the issue of whether A1 has made a try.

Nothing in the definition of 'dribble' (4-15) or 'illegal dribble' (9-5) supports this rationale. So where is it?
This is a multi rule quote and has led to many mis understandings:

Rules in reference here:

9-5
4-31
4-41
4-15

The own equipment is referenced by the words "own goal" in 4-41. It can not be a shot ot opponents goal and this is part of the floor as defined by 4-15 and 4-13
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Off the glass

dbking, thanks for your reply and the information. Rule 9, section 5 states, "A player shall not dribble a second time after his first dribble has ended, unless it is after he has lost control because of;
1. A try for goal (my point on this whole situation)
2. A touch by opponent
3. A pass or fumble that was then touch by an opponent.

Why wouldn't there be a number 4? A pass off of his own backboard which he then catches would allow him to dribble again.

I am back to the beginning, I still think if he does not try a shot, this is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaCoach View Post
dbking, thanks for your reply and the information. Rule 9, section 5 states, "A player shall not dribble a second time after his first dribble has ended, unless it is after he has lost control because of;
1. A try for goal (my point on this whole situation)
2. A touch by opponent
3. A pass or fumble that was then touch by an opponent.

Why wouldn't there be a number 4? A pass off of his own backboard which he then catches would allow him to dribble again.

I am back to the beginning, I still think if he does not try a shot, this is a violation.
Hasn't there been a recent interpretation or change (don't have my casebook) that implies that any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Hasn't there been a recent interpretation or change (don't have my casebook) that implies that any time a player throws the ball against his own backboard it should be treated as a try for goal?

Yes, 9.5 (iirc)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, 9.5 (iirc)
Thanks. It's been that way in my mind, but I couldn't remember if it was something I read or something I was taught. Or something my mind made up on me.

Any of the three was possible.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 12:07pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by VaCoach View Post
I agree with you, I thought the only way he could dribble again if he actually tries a shot, which hits backboard or rim.......
To be considered a "try", the ball does not have to hit the backboard or rim. The only qualification is that, in the opinion of the official, it was a legitimate try for goal.

Definitely, one of the most misunderstood rules. Right BillyBob, er, I mean BillyMac?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 12:17pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
To be considered a "try", the ball does not have to hit the backboard or rim. The only qualification is that, in the opinion of the official, it was a legitimate try for goal.

Definitely, one of the most misunderstood rules. Right BillyBob, er, I mean BillyMac?
Yep, and the flip side of this is 99% of the time when it hits the backboard or rim, it's considered a try regardless of the player's intent.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Yep, and the flip side of this is 99% of the time when it hits the backboard or rim, it's considered a try regardless of the player's intent.
I'm fine with that. But that's not the rationale given in 9.5, which says that the pass off one's own backboard is allowed because it's team "equipment."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 12:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I really don't get that either, to be honest.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Off the glass

I must agree with Snaqwells, the word "equipment" in the case book, makes no sense to me. I have always thought that a "try for goal" allows the player to rebound and dribble again, regardless of did it hit the backboard or not. Case book says to throw the ball against the backboard will allow and offensive player to dribble again. I need clarification on is this the "rule" or not!!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 12:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaCoach View Post
I must agree with Snaqwells, the word "equipment" in the case book, makes no sense to me. I have always thought that a "try for goal" allows the player to rebound and dribble again, regardless of did it hit the backboard or not. Case book says to throw the ball against the backboard will allow and offensive player to dribble again. I need clarification on is this the "rule" or not!!
Yes, it's the rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 07:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,508
Just Don't Call Me Late For Dinner ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
To be considered a "try", the ball does not have to hit the backboard or rim. The only qualification is that, in the opinion of the official, it was a legitimate try for goal. Definitely, one of the most misunderstood rules. Right BillyBob, er, I mean BillyMac?
The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy your way out of violation? hugheske44 Basketball 33 Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:56am
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
Violation or not secondyear Basketball 3 Tue Apr 24, 2001 09:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1