![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Can you point me to this case? I'm having trouble locating it. In NCAA it's AR 88, but I'd like to locate it in the NFHS book too.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Quote:
For years, this was called an illegal dribble. Then, it was called traveling. Now, it's just illegal.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I will post clarification from KS and NFHS. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() 9-5-3 is EXACTLY the corrrect rule, yet you can't see it. A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched byanother player. The player has ended his dribble, has lost control of the ball because of a pass that has NOT touched another player. If what you say were true, any player could end his dribble, throw the ball, run and retrieve after it hits the floor. Pardon me but that's ridiculous, it's not supported by rule, and in direct contradiction with 9-5-3. When you throw the ball, it hits the floor and you're the first player to touch it, that's the beginning of a dribble. If you've already used your dribble, then you've now committed an illegal dribble. As for the case play, it does not infer that it is illegal. It states that it is illegal. That's as clear as I can make it for you.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4) |
|
|||
|
One more scenario...
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I cannot think of any rules that control rolling the ball. I'm tempted to say a) and b) are both legal actions. However, there will be some folks along shortly to argue that it's either a pass or the beginning of a dribble. I'll be interested to hear their arguments.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Face mask-pass or no pass... | buckrog64 | Football | 13 | Mon Oct 01, 2007 04:08pm |
| Pass Play: Inelgible/Pass Int or Nothing | BoBo | Football | 10 | Fri Sep 07, 2007 08:49am |
| forward pass/backwards pass | cyrick | Football | 8 | Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:59pm |
| Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass | OverAndBack | Football | 8 | Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm |
| Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass | DH Anderson | Basketball | 9 | Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm |