The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Pass to self

I have used my dribble and make a pass to my team mate who goes back door and does not see the pass coming. I run over and pick up the pass. Is this a travel?

What if I see him going backdoor and try to hold up on the pass but the ball slips. Is this considered a fumble and therefore no traveling?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzooref View Post
I have used my dribble and make a pass to my team mate who goes back door and does not see the pass coming. I run over and pick up the pass. Is this a travel?

What if I see him going backdoor and try to hold up on the pass but the ball slips. Is this considered a fumble and therefore no traveling?
If the passed ball touches the floor and you touch the ball before it touches or is touched by another player, it is an illegal dribble. If the ball does not touch the floor and you touch the ball before it touches or is touched by another player, it is a travel.

A fumble is defined in 4-21. If you deem the action to be a fumble, then it can legally be recovered. In the second part of your OP, I would judge that to be a fumble
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
If the passed ball touches the floor and you touch the ball before it touches or is touched by another player, it is an illegal dribble. If the ball does not touch the floor and you touch the ball before it touches or is touched by another player, it is a travel.

A fumble is defined in 4-21. If you deem the action to be a fumble, then it can legally be recovered. In the second part of your OP, I would judge that to be a fumble
I have some questions for you based upon your response.

What if A1 is dribbling at the top of the FT semi-circle and in mid-dribble pushes a bounce pass to towards his teammate with only one hand? Did A1 end his dribble? Can he run over and be the first to touch the ball?

What if A1 is holding the ball and throws a bounce pass towards his teammate who doesn't see it. Can he run over and be the first to touch the ball?

Do you believe that the Case Book is correct or that the Rules Book takes precedence for illegal dribble or traveling?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 11:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I have some questions for you based upon your response.

What if A1 is dribbling at the top of the FT semi-circle and in mid-dribble pushes a bounce pass to towards his teammate with only one hand? Did A1 end his dribble? Can he run over and be the first to touch the ball?

What if A1 is holding the ball and throws a bounce pass towards his teammate who doesn't see it. Can he run over and be the first to touch the ball?

Do you believe that the Case Book is correct or that the Rules Book takes precedence for illegal dribble or traveling?
If he touches with one hand, and continues the dribble, no problem. If he picks it up with two, no problem, but he cannot dribble. Dribbled is now ended.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 26, 2009, 03:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Nevadaref: I know you know the answers. Rather than pose the question - please answer. This will get confusing real quick. It may have already gotten confusing to some.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 26, 2009, 10:22am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,383
My Credit Card Is Ready ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
This will get confusing real quick. It may have already gotten confusing to some.
I would like to order a steam mop. I've seen your infomercials and think that it would make cleaning my kitchen floor a lot easier. However, I can't find the item number, nor can I find shipping information, on your website. I need your assistance.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 26, 2009, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
If the passed ball touches the floor and you touch the ball before it touches or is touched by another player, it is an illegal dribble. If the ball does not touch the floor and you touch the ball before it touches or is touched by another player, it is a travel.
You were kind enough to provide a rules reference for the definition of fumble. Could you perchance do the same for the above pontification?
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 26, 2009, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
You were kind enough to provide a rules reference for the definition of fumble. Could you perchance do the same for the above pontification?
Illegal dribble: 9-5
Travel: 4-44
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2009, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: kansas
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Illegal dribble: 9-5
Travel: 4-44
Wrong, it is not an illegal dribble. The ball is loose on the court. All ten players may legally obtain possession of the ball. A dribble is defined very clearly in the book. This is not a dribble therefore, it can not be an illegal dribble. Perfectly legal play that everyone in stands will be crying for something when you actually should have nothing. Play on! There are restrictions on the the player on what he can / can not do with the ball once he has regained possession.

Wrong, it is not a travel. You can not travel when you do not have possession of the ball. This is a fumble and represents a loose ball. All ten players may legally obtain possession of the ball. Play on. Again, restrictions are on this player once he regains possession of ball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2009, 05:37pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbking View Post
Wrong, it is not an illegal dribble. The ball is loose on the court. All ten players may legally obtain possession of the ball. A dribble is defined very clearly in the book. This is not a dribble therefore, it can not be an illegal dribble. Perfectly legal play that everyone in stands will be crying for something when you actually should have nothing. Play on! There are restrictions on the the player on what he can / can not do with the ball once he has regained possession.
Wrong, it's an illegal dribble. See case play 4.15.4C. It doesn't matter whether A1 "intended" to throw a pass or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbking View Post
Wrong, it is not a travel. You can not travel when you do not have possession of the ball. This is a fumble and represents a loose ball. All ten players may legally obtain possession of the ball. Play on. Again, restrictions are on this player once he regains possession of ball.
Wrong, it's a travel. Case play 4.44.3D(b).

All of this assumes, of course, that the ball was "passed" and not fumbled.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2009, 07:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbking View Post
Wrong, it is not an illegal dribble. The ball is loose on the court. All ten players may legally obtain possession of the ball. A dribble is defined very clearly in the book. This is not a dribble therefore, it can not be an illegal dribble. Perfectly legal play that everyone in stands will be crying for something when you actually should have nothing. Play on! There are restrictions on the the player on what he can / can not do with the ball once he has regained possession.
Did you even read 9-5 before posting this? Either Scratch did or he knows it pretty darn well.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2009, 11:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbking View Post
Wrong, it is not an illegal dribble. The ball is loose on the court. All ten players may legally obtain possession of the ball. A dribble is defined very clearly in the book. This is not a dribble therefore, it can not be an illegal dribble. Perfectly legal play that everyone in stands will be crying for something when you actually should have nothing. Play on! There are restrictions on the the player on what he can / can not do with the ball once he has regained possession.

Wrong, it is not a travel. You can not travel when you do not have possession of the ball. This is a fumble and represents a loose ball. All ten players may legally obtain possession of the ball. Play on. Again, restrictions are on this player once he regains possession of ball.
There's a specific case play where A1, having used his/her dribble, passes the ball toward A2. A2 is not looking and runs away and A1 recovers the ball after it bounces.

The ruling has gone back and forth as to whether it's an illegal dribble or a travel, but it's clear that it's a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2009, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzooref View Post
I have used my dribble and make a pass to my team mate who goes back door and does not see the pass coming. I run over and pick up the pass. Is this a travel?

What if I see him going backdoor and try to hold up on the pass but the ball slips. Is this considered a fumble and therefore no traveling?
You have to decide. Did he pass it or fumble it?

Unfortunately, some posters above are confused. A fumble is not a dribble and a dribble is not a fumble.

If you judge it to be a fumble, then the player can retrieve it.

If you judge that it was a pass, then the passer cannot touch the ball before it touches another player. If he does, it's an illegal dribble.

BTW, there's no such thing as a "pass to self." A pass is ALWAYS to another player.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2009, 01:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Okay, let me see if I understand this correctly.

If, as in the OP, the ball handler A1 has used his/her dribble...

If A1 fumbles the ball, he/she may take any number of steps and legally recover the ball (NFHS 4-21, 4.15.4D (d), NCAA 4-31.2). But unless the fumble touches another player before A1 recovers it, A1 may not dribble again legally. (NFHS 9-5-3, NCAA 9-7.1c)

If A1 attempts a bounce pass, which for whatever reason no teammate is there to receive, and A1 is the first to touch the ball after it has touched the floor, A1 has committed an illegal dribble/double dribble. (NFHS 9-5, NCAA 9-7.1, NCAA AR 88)

If A1 attempts a non-bounce pass, which for whatever reason no teammate is there to receive, and A1 moves beyond the prescribed pivot foot limits and catches the ball before it touches the ground, A1 has traveled. (NFHS 4-44, 4.44.3D (d), NCAA 4-70)

However, if A1 has not used his/her dribble...

If A1 fumbles the ball, he/she may recover the ball and legally begin a dribble. (The fumble-dribble-fumble maxim often quoted here)

If A1 attempts a bounce pass, which for whatever reason no teammate is there to receive, and A1 is the first to touch the ball after it has touched the floor, A1 has begun a dribble and may legally continue that dribble. If A1 recovers the ball in a way that ends the dribble, A1 may not legally dribble again.

If A1 attempts a non-bounce pass, which for whatever reason no teammate is there to receive, and A1 moves beyond the prescribed pivot foot limits and catches the ball before it touches the ground, A1 has still traveled. Having dribbled, or not dribbled, prior to this action is irrelevant.

Are any of those statements incorrect?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Face mask-pass or no pass... buckrog64 Football 13 Mon Oct 01, 2007 04:08pm
Pass Play: Inelgible/Pass Int or Nothing BoBo Football 10 Fri Sep 07, 2007 08:49am
forward pass/backwards pass cyrick Football 8 Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:59pm
Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass OverAndBack Football 8 Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm
Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass DH Anderson Basketball 9 Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1