The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 12:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
In more detail, a "Blarge" is when one official calls a block on a play and the other official calls a charge. Both come up with a definite preliminary signal. Let the fun begin.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 01:40am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
In more detail, a "Blarge" is when one official calls a block on a play and the other official calls a charge. Both come up with a definite preliminary signal. Let the fun begin.
Nothing ever written says preliminary signal, definite or otherwise, = a call.

Are we having fun yet?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 02:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
I'm not sure what you're getting at here. But if I come up with block, and my partner comes up with charge, we've got ourselves a blarge.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 02:30am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
I'm not sure what you're getting at here. But if I come up with block, and my partner comes up with charge, we've got ourselves a blarge.
If you both made a call, and each of you thinks his call was undeniably right and you each wish to stick with it at all cost, then without a doubt you have a blarge. This is spelled out in the now famous case 4.19.8 Situation C, even though I could never have come to this conclusion by reading the rule book. But there is nothing in this case which says that a preliminary signal is binding in making this call.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you both made a call, and each of you thinks his call was undeniably right and you each wish to stick with it at all cost, then without a doubt you have a blarge.
We had this debate before. IIRC, you were alone in your view that officials' preliminary signals did not constitute a "call" for the purpose of enforcing the "blarge rule."

The majority view was, as BITS suggests, that a prelim signal constitutes a call. You can't unring the bell.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 07:51am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Totally Wrong Adjective ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Famous case 4.19.8 Situation C.
It's the infamous 4.19.8 Situation C.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 02:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If you both made a call, and each of you thinks his call was undeniably right and you each wish to stick with it at all cost, then without a doubt you have a blarge. This is spelled out in the now famous case 4.19.8 Situation C, even though I could never have come to this conclusion by reading the rule book. But there is nothing in this case which says that a preliminary signal is binding in making this call.
I'm still trying to figure out if you actually believe they wrote a case play for two officials who are beligerently sticking to their calls even after getting together.

Or did they write it for the situation when two officials report their fouls in complete ignorance of each other?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
I'm not sure what you're getting at here. But if I come up with block, and my partner comes up with charge, we've got ourselves a blarge.
No, you've got yourself a conference where one of you two is going to be a grown up, defer the call, and get a single call because it can't really be both a block and a charge. You are absolutely NOT going to both insist your call is right and not back down. If a crew cant get together and get this right, that is just lame.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 02:15pm
If you need me, text me!
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ocean City, MD
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdaref View Post
No, you've got yourself a conference where one of you two is going to be a grown up, defer the call, and get a single call because it can't really be both a block and a charge. You are absolutely NOT going to both insist your call is right and not back down. If a crew cant get together and get this right, that is just lame.

In NCAA women's you are correct. We get together and go with the primary officials call. In NFHS and NCAA men's it has to be a double foul.
NFHS case 4.19.8 Situation C
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 02:26pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdaref View Post
No, you've got yourself a conference where one of you two is going to be a grown up, defer the call, and get a single call because it can't really be both a block and a charge. You are absolutely NOT going to both insist your call is right and not back down. If a crew cant get together and get this right, that is just lame.
The rule is if both officials give preliminary signals, you cannot defer (in spite of what jar says above) to your partner. In NFHS and NCAA-M, being a grown up means going by the prescribed mechanic and calling the double foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The rule is if both officials give preliminary signals, you cannot defer (in spite of what jar says above) to your partner. In NFHS and NCAA-M, being a grown up means going by the prescribed mechanic and calling the double foul.
I'm sure at our "get together" either I or my partner will learn that the other had the better look. A preliminary signal is no more a binding irreversible ruling than an out of bounds call.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdaref View Post
I'm sure at our "get together" either I or my partner will learn that the other had the better look. A preliminary signal is no more a binding irreversible ruling than an out of bounds call.
Ummm...then you will be kicking a rule.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The rule is if both officials give preliminary signals, you cannot defer (in spite of what jar says above) to your partner. In NFHS and NCAA-M, being a grown up means going by the prescribed mechanic and calling the double foul.
Of course you can defer. There is no such thing as a binding irreversible signal. The only call that counts is the one reported to the table. Find me a rule that says a preliminary signal is binding and irreversible. You can't. There isnt one.

If preliminary signals now are binding and non-reversible, what do you do with the jump/foul double whistle or the out of bounds call that your partner comes over and tells you there was a tip. I guess we shoot the free throw for the foul then go to the AP arrow for the jump? Uh, no. Or we tell the coach, "sorry coach, I know my partner saw the tip, but I pointed to blue and that signal is irreversible." No.

This idea of an irreversible preliminary signal is absurd.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdaref View Post
Of course you can defer. There is no such thing as a binding irreversible signal. The only call that counts is the one reported to the table. Find me a rule that says a preliminary signal is binding and irreversible. You can't. There isnt one.

If preliminary signals now are binding and non-reversible, what do you do with the jump/foul double whistle or the out of bounds call that your partner comes over and tells you there was a tip. I guess we shoot the free throw for the foul then go to the AP arrow for the jump? Uh, no. Or we tell the coach, "sorry coach, I know my partner saw the tip, but I pointed to blue and that signal is irreversible." No.

This idea of an irreversible preliminary signal is absurd.
Then please explain 4.19.8 Sit. C.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 17, 2009, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 151
I will concede, of course, that I have no freaking clue how 4.19.8(C) can be possible with just A1 and B1. I could see, perhaps, A1 charges into B1, while at the exact same time secondary defender B2 blocks A1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Blarge tjones1 Basketball 4 Thu Dec 28, 2006 01:46am
Blarge -- or was it? rainmaker Basketball 3 Sun Mar 26, 2006 09:04am
Blarge All_Heart Basketball 14 Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:39pm
Another Blarge Snake~eyes Basketball 6 Fri Jan 13, 2006 03:16pm
Blarge or not? ChuckElias Basketball 9 Wed Nov 30, 2005 11:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1