The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 01:16am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
shot clock test question

well I got this one wrong. I even have an old test with the other answer circled. Is this right? I picked B, not reset.

The alternating-possession arrow is pointed to the White Team. White #10 attempts a try for goal with 10-seconds left on the shot clock and the ball misses the rim. White #55 and Blue #45 both grab the ball at the same time creating a held ball.
Correct (A) The White Team is awarded the throw-in and the shot clock will be reset.


Reference(s): Handbook: Shot Clock Rules; Rule Book 4-41-2; 4-12-3; 6-4-3
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 02:22am
I drank what?
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL
Posts: 1,085
Send a message via MSN to w_sohl
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
well I got this one wrong. I even have an old test with the other answer circled. Is this right? I picked B, not reset.

The alternating-possession arrow is pointed to the White Team. White #10 attempts a try for goal with 10-seconds left on the shot clock and the ball misses the rim. White #55 and Blue #45 both grab the ball at the same time creating a held ball.
Correct (A) The White Team is awarded the throw-in and the shot clock will be reset.


Reference(s): Handbook: Shot Clock Rules; Rule Book 4-41-2; 4-12-3; 6-4-3
You don't reset because possesion didn't change. The test is wrong.
__________________
"Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 07:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
well I got this one wrong. I even have an old test with the other answer circled. Is this right? I picked B, not reset.

The alternating-possession arrow is pointed to the White Team. White #10 attempts a try for goal with 10-seconds left on the shot clock and the ball misses the rim. White #55 and Blue #45 both grab the ball at the same time creating a held ball.
Correct (A) The White Team is awarded the throw-in and the shot clock will be reset.


Reference(s): Handbook: Shot Clock Rules; Rule Book 4-41-2; 4-12-3; 6-4-3
The answer might depend on whether this is NCAAM or NCAAW.

4-11.7: ...continue without a reset when: i. afyter a ... held ball occurs during a throw-in or (women) after an unsuccessful try that does not contact the ring or flange and the AP arrow favors the throw-in team
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 07:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The answer might depend on whether this is NCAAM or NCAAW.

4-11.7: ...continue without a reset when: i. afyter a ... held ball occurs during a throw-in or (women) after an unsuccessful try that does not contact the ring or flange and the AP arrow favors the throw-in team
Thanks for pointing that out, I hadn't realized that was a NCAA-W only rule.

On a related note, am I understanding this correctly? From the same rule...

Stop the timing device and continue time without a reset when play begins under the following circumstances:

j. After the ball goes out of bounds and was last touched simultaneously by two opponents, both of whom are either inbounds or out of bounds or when there is doubt as to who last touched the ball.

So if A has possession with 10 seconds left on the SC and A1 fumbles the ball after which A2 and B2 touch it simultaneously before it goes OOB, whichever team is awarded the ball using the AP, that team has only the remaining 10 seconds? Even if it is B?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
So if A has possession with 10 seconds left on the SC and A1 fumbles the ball after which A2 and B2 touch it simultaneously before it goes OOB, whichever team is awarded the ball using the AP, that team has only the remaining 10 seconds? Even if it is B?
While the rule could be better written, it only applies if A gets the ball back.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
In NCAA-M, there is no team control during a shot.

Therefore, when W-55 and B-45 grabbed the ball with no team control the shot clock must be reset.

That being said, if the calling official can "sell" that W-55 grabbed and had possession of the ball ever so slightly first before B-45 did, then there would be no reset of the clock.

Last edited by dahoopref; Sun Nov 01, 2009 at 12:44am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 11:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
In NCAA-M, there is no team control during a shot.
Is there in NCAAW? Why the difference?

To me, it does not seem equitable to reset in this situation (I know what I think doesn't matter). If the shot clock is around 1-2 seconds, it makes more sense for B to let it go, than to grab it and risk a tie up and a reset for A. Doesn't make much sense... Also a once every million games type situation...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2009, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The answer might depend on whether this is NCAAM or NCAAW.

4-11.7: ...continue without a reset when: i. afyter a ... held ball occurs during a throw-in or (women) after an unsuccessful try that does not contact the ring or flange and the AP arrow favors the throw-in team
In NCAA-W, the clock does not reset because the possesion does not change.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shot Clock Question SCBroncos Basketball 6 Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:58am
Shot Clock Question David M Basketball 3 Wed Jan 19, 2005 03:53pm
Shot Clock Question DMRefGal Basketball 1 Fri Dec 05, 2003 12:44pm
Shot Clock Question Zebra1 Basketball 29 Mon Nov 17, 2003 11:05am
another shot clock question Marty Rogers Basketball 4 Thu Jan 30, 2003 01:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1