The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2003, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 276
When a team shoots just before the 30 sec shot clock buzzes, and the ball is in the air, does the goal count if it goes in after the buzzer (as in a last second shot in a game, where the ball is released in time)? Or, does it actually have to hit the rim (or go in) before the buzzer, to avoid a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2003, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Marty Rogers
When a team shoots just before the 30 sec shot clock buzzes, and the ball is in the air, does the goal count if it goes in after the buzzer?
yes
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2003, 11:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 276
Dan Ref: I wish you were my partner earlier tonight.
JV boys, I am the trail, shot goes up from 3 point arc, buzzer buzzes, ball enters hoop. I indicate the goal counts. My partner comes out with a "no basket" and explains very firmly (to the table) that the ball was in the air when the 30 sec clock buzzed, and it must hit the rim before the buzzer. This is not like a last second shot where the ball can be in the air (he said). This was a 20 year veteran. I kept thinking about no team control during a try, that the goal should count, and we (he) should have ignored the horn. Then I thought maybe I was the crazy one...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 30, 2003, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Ouch! We've had the shot clock in MA long enough that the official should know that the ball only needs to be released on the shot and then hit the rim or go in the basket. That's terrible. Please tell me this 20 year vet doesn't also do college, Marty. As Mad Dog would say, That's a bad job by him.

chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 30, 2003, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 133
Please tell me he doesn't do Varsity!

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1