The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 275
Breaking the plane by defense during throw in

NFHS Rules.
Rule 7 Section 6 Art 4 states that no opponent can cross the throw in boundry plane until the ball is released. At a clinic they are teaching that if a defender reaches thru plane after release and touches the ball its a technical foul.
Situation: A1 is the thrower on his baseline halfway between lane and 3 pt circle. A2 drives towards lane from opposite corner. B2 defending from inside lane bats ball out of bounds on pass from A1 to A2. To touch ball he reaches through boundry plane.
__________________
Damain
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 10:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian View Post
NFHS Rules.
Rule 7 Section 6 Art 4 states that no opponent can cross the throw in boundry plane until the ball is released. At a clinic they are teaching that if a defender reaches thru plane after release and touches the ball its a technical foul.
Situation: A1 is the thrower on his baseline halfway between lane and 3 pt circle. A2 drives towards lane from opposite corner. B2 defending from inside lane bats ball out of bounds on pass from A1 to A2. To touch ball he reaches through boundry plane.
I would speculate that they are talking about Rule 9-3-10 Penalties, which defines what action during the throw-in is a technical foul. However based on the play you stated, the throw-in was released on a pass towards a player in bounds, therefore it should be a legal block attempt. Had the contact on the ball been made while A1 was throwing the ball to A2 who is also out of bounds, after a made basket per 7-5-7, then the contact on the ball would be a technical foul. see caseplay 10.3.10 Sit B
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian View Post
Situation: A1 is the thrower on his baseline halfway between lane and 3 pt circle. A2 drives towards lane from opposite corner. B2 defending from inside lane bats ball out of bounds on pass from A1 to A2. To touch ball he reaches through boundry plane.
Legal play. Ball is awarded to A for a spot throw in at the nearest spot where the ball went out of bounds.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
NFHS: At one time, just a few years ago, the wording in the rulebook actually said it was a technical foul. The rule use to say that a player couldn't reach across the throwin plane and touch the ball. The penalty was a T for reaching through the throwin plane and touching the ball....with no other qualification. It also said those restrictions ended when the ball crossed the throwin plane.

A few years ago, an "editorial clarification" was made to add that it had to be in the hands of the thrower for the T.

The problem with that is the the offensive team is not permitted to reach across the line to catch the pass (or even touch the ball)...they must wait for it to cross the line. Yet, the defense can reach across the line and touch the ball. Really seems inconsistent to allow one team to make a play in a space where the other team is prohibited.

NCAA: The defense is not permitted to reach through the line until the ball crosses the line....penalty...1st offense is a violation and delay-of-game. Repeated violations are a T.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 06:35am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,383
Other Situations ...

A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a violation, not travelling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet. A player inbounding the ball may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throwin. After a goal, or awarded goal, the team not credited with the score shall make the throw-in from any point outside the end line. A team retains this “run the endline” privilege if a timeout is called during the dead ball period after the goal. Any player of the team may make a direct throw-in or may pass the ball along the end line to a teammate outside the boundary line.

The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded.

The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 07:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
NCAA: The defense is not permitted to reach through the line until the ball crosses the line....penalty...1st offense is a violation and delay-of-game. Repeated violations are a T.
My thought was that the clinicians in the OP might be importing the NCAA rule to HS ball.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
My thought was that the clinicians in the OP might be importing the NCAA rule to HS ball.
Good point guys... many of our clinicians in the Houston area are college officials. I would suggest getting clarification on their interpretation of the play. This would be a good play to share with the class, along with Billy Mac's other misunderstood rules regarding throw-ins.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
My thought is that a technical should never be called on the defense for reaching across the plane and touching the ball in the player's hands.

As soon as the plane is crossed, the ref should blow their whistle stopping the play and issue the warning (for first offense). You gotta be real quick, though!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free throw violation -- why do we use the plane? bradfordwilkins Basketball 1 Thu Mar 05, 2009 01:46pm
Defense reaching through plane on throw in. Damian Basketball 30 Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:30pm
Technical on defense during Throw in? jritchie Basketball 1 Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:53pm
Player breaking the OOB plane.....what's the call? GregAlan Basketball 21 Sun Aug 10, 2003 10:35pm
Throw-in plane PP Basketball 8 Sun Feb 10, 2002 03:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1