Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  Damian
					 
				 
				NFHS Rules. 
Rule 7 Section 6 Art 4 states that no opponent can cross the throw in boundry plane until the ball is released. At a clinic they are teaching that if a defender reaches thru plane after release and touches the ball its a technical foul.  
Situation: A1 is the thrower on his baseline halfway between lane and 3 pt circle. A2 drives towards lane from opposite corner. B2 defending from inside lane bats ball out of bounds on pass from A1 to A2. To touch ball he reaches through boundry plane. 
			
		 | 
	
	
  I would speculate that they are talking about Rule 9-3-10 Penalties, which defines what action during the throw-in is a technical foul.  However based on the play you stated, the throw-in was released on a pass towards a player in bounds, therefore it should be a legal block attempt.  Had the contact on the ball been made while A1 was throwing the ball to A2 who is also out of bounds, after a made basket per 7-5-7, then the contact on the ball would be a technical foul.  see caseplay 10.3.10 Sit B