![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Clarification on rule
It would best if the rules would say that during a throw in there is no backcourt nor front court until team control is established. When the player jumped, he was not in the front court because there was no front court nor backcourt since there was no team control when he left the floor.. So, while in the air, he can land anyplace and pass anyplace. The same would apply to a defender. He could jump in the air, catch the ball, while in the air and pass to a teammate that was defending in what would be their backcourt.
This would not apply to someone jumping in from out of bounds. OOB is always OOB.
__________________
Damain |
|
|||
|
Quote:
That's why Camron added the caveat of no FC or BC existing until there is team control on the floor.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It just seems as though your idea of FC/BC not existing until there is team control on the floor seem a little cleaner to word, and wouldn't involve exceptions. Wait a minute, am I arguing for your point, and you're arguing against your point?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() I don't think his idea does what you think it does. There would not need to be an exception to the location rule. When the player jumped, where were they? While their location is considered to be where they last touched the floor, they didn't jump from the FC becasue FC didn't exist. The only thing that existed when they jumped was inbounds/out-of-bounds.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
No messy exceptions needed. So, is this what debate class is like - I argue your point, and you argue mine?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
I like all the reasoning/discussion. If A2 has the ball in mid air from catching a throw in, he has team control but is allowed per rule to make a normal landing w/o violation. Why shouldn't he be able to make a pass w/o violating?
Even though the throw in exception by rule has ended with team control established, it really still exists until the landing. Last edited by CoachP; Fri Sep 25, 2009 at 12:31pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backcourt | COBBallRef | Basketball | 17 | Thu Mar 30, 2006 12:20am |
| Backcourt ? | missinglink | Basketball | 5 | Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:25am |
| backcourt | A Pennsylvania Coach | Basketball | 8 | Thu Jan 15, 2004 09:01am |
| backcourt | missinglink | Basketball | 13 | Tue Dec 30, 2003 05:29pm |
| backcourt? | BigDave | Basketball | 5 | Mon Dec 09, 2002 01:49am |