The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 28, 2009, 05:24pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The action that the timer undertook was perfectly reasonable. If I were a game official, I wouldn't have any problem with it. The HC was making a time-out request at a proper time and deserved to have it granted.

Please note that the HC can go to the table and request a time-out any time that he wishes and challenge a situation as a correctable error or a scoring or timing mistake. When the HC makes such a request the timer/scorer is to signal the officials as soon as that team is in control of the ball or the ball next becomes dead.
If the HC is incorrect about the error, his team gets charged with a time-out and they are permitted to utilize any remaining time after the determination regarding the error is made.
So all that the HC had to say in the situation presented by the OP is that he asked the table for a time-out because he could not get that attention of any of the game officials and that he thought that there might have been a timing (or other) error. At the point when an official comes over he just agrees that there wasn't an error and gets charged with the time-out, which is what he wanted.

2-11-3 The scorer shall: . . . Signal the officials by using the game horn or a sounding device
unlike that used by the referee and umpire(s). This may be used immediately if,
or as soon as, the ball is dead or is in control of the offending team.

5-8-4 . . . Responds to the scorer’s signal to grant a coach’s request that a
correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession
mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be presented at the scorer’s table where a coach of each team may be present.

10-5-1c. The head coach may stand and/or leave the coaching box to confer with
personnel at the scorer’s table to request a time-out as in 5-8-4.


I am only online for a few minutes tonight guys, so here is my two cents:

NevadaRef has quoted the three rules that apply to this situation and the Official Timer (OT)was incorrect in sounding his horn to get the Game Officials (GO)attention so that the Head Coach could request a team timeout that is not covered by R5-S8-A4 and R10-S5-A1c. The bigger problem, as I see it, is that once the GO are made aware as to why the OT sounded his horn, does the GO grant the HC's request for a TO, assuming that he requests one for the GO once the GO gets to the Scorer's Table (ST) or does he tell the HC he can not have one because of the OT overstepped his bounds as the Timer?

MTD, Sr.

P.S. Have fun beating this dead horse some more.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 719
Here is a link to the NFHS - Instructions to Scorers and Timers

http://www.nfhs.org/core/contentmana...rerstimers.pdf

Clearly the Table Crew (usually also part of the Home Team) overstepped their authority. The home team received an unintended benefit of having the game at home.

If the officials recognize the horn, the home team has clearly benefited from the stoppage in play. They have an opportunity to communicate enough to set up an offensive or defensive play. At that point, is it an inadvertant whistle? Now the coach is asking for the TO and if the officials do not recognize it they will have other problems with whoever their assigning authority is. Damned if you do, damned it you don't now.

Last edited by icallfouls; Wed Apr 29, 2009 at 05:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 29, 2009, 08:48pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

I think what we have here is a technical foul on the table crew. The gym custodian should get two free throws and then be awarded one of the cheerleaders at the mid court line opposite the table. The table crew loses all concession stand privileges and must spend all subsequent timeouts refilling mechanical pencils.

I'm pretty sure all this is specified under NF rule 11.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interesting situation JM_00 Basketball 7 Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:59am
Interesting Situation PIAA REF Basketball 7 Tue Dec 05, 2006 09:13pm
Interesting situation Orangeguy06 Wrestling 2 Tue Feb 21, 2006 12:45pm
Interesting situation devdog69 Basketball 34 Tue Mar 09, 2004 08:54am
interesting situation jtarantine Basketball 8 Thu Jan 30, 2003 08:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1