The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 08:45am
Official Forum Member

Interesting situation

I am a local HS referee. My neighbor is the clock keeper for the local school. Our school held a regional final which was attended by 2500 or so people. Loud - I watched the game - could hardly hear the officials whistle.

Sit - 1 minute or so to go - coach farthest away from the end where the officials were - trying to call time out during dead ball - could not be heard and could not get refs attention. Clock keeper gave a quick buzz of the horn... he wonders if he did the right thing... I have never read anything about this in the rules or case book... but I doubt if it is the right thing...

Help please....
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 08:51am
Ch1town

Haven't had that one... it really shouldn't matter but out of curiosity, was it a 2 or 3 person game?
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 09:18am
Official Forum Member

3 man - I wondered the same thing - why wasn't the table being watched or the official anticipating a TO
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 09:37am
9/11 - Never Forget

Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
For What it's Worth....

I am a referee, but was pressed into clock operator duties earlier in the yr for F/JV HS games.

One game, between two foul shots, V coach was asking for a TO and the refs didn't hear it/see it - for whatever reason. Since there was a dead ball between foul shots, I sounded the horn. R looked at me and came over to the table. I informed him what I had (coach requesting TO).

He granted the TO and told me never to do that again. I informed him that I thought I was part of the "referee team" and had infomation for him during a dead ball. He said it wasn't my job. I didn't argue the point, as I thought I was "helping." He disagreed.