The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Talking Waddabout this one?

A1 inbounding in his FC, passes ball to A2. A2 tips the ball into the air toward the division line. Heroically, A3 comes flying in, jumps from the FC and 'saves' the ball from landing in BC. Ball caroms off A2 who is standing in the FC and is caught by A3 who just landed in the BC?
In deference to Mark P, I specifically renounce any further complications by Daylight Saving Time or reference to the International Date Line.

Serious answers only, please
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 02:14pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
A1 inbounding in his FC, passes ball to A2. A2 tips the ball into the air toward the division line. Heroically, A3 comes flying in, jumps from the FC and 'saves' the ball from landing in BC. Ball caroms off A2 who is standing in the FC and is caught by A3 who just landed in the BC?
In deference to Mark P, I specifically renounce any further complications by Daylight Saving Time or reference to the International Date Line.

Serious answers only, please
Did A3 have control when he "'saves' the ball from landing in BC" ?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
A1 inbounding in his FC,
No such thing.

And, it doesn't matter from where A1 is inbounding the ball.

Quote:
passes ball to A2. A2 tips the ball into the air toward the division line. Heroically, A3 comes flying in, jumps from the FC and 'saves' the ball from landing in BC. Ball caroms off A2 who is standing in the FC and is caught by A3 who just landed in the BC?
In deference to Mark P, I specifically renounce any further complications by Daylight Saving Time or reference to the International Date Line.

Serious answers only, please
If A3's "save" constituted team control, then it's a BC violation. Otherwise, it's a legal play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
No such thing.

And, it doesn't matter from where A1 is inbounding the ball.

Please don't dissect my 'red herring'!!!!

Thx
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Serious answers only, please
Dang, that apparently leaves me out.

Well, let me answer by asking yet one other question: was team control ever established in your sequence? If not, then it doesn't matter how many players it bounces off of, or where they are, or in what order.

The only item that could establish team control is if you consider A3's save to be player control, and thus team control. Remember that even a "controlled tap" is not considered player control; A3 must actually hold the ball, even if only for a slight moment.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 20, 2009, 10:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Dang, that apparently leaves me out.

Well, let me answer by asking yet one other question: was team control ever established in your sequence? If not, then it doesn't matter how many players it bounces off of, or where they are, or in what order.

The only item that could establish team control is if you consider A3's save to be player control, and thus team control. Remember that even a "controlled tap" is not considered player control; A3 must actually hold the ball, even if only for a slight moment.
A3 momentarily considered requesting a TO. It would have been granted!!!
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 21, 2009, 07:24am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
A3 momentarily considered requesting a TO. It would have been granted!!!

Then it would be a BC violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Former Ref who are coaches are such ... TrojanHorse Basketball 10 Sun Jan 04, 2009 10:51pm
Coaches in LBT BlitzkriegBob Softball 1 Sun May 06, 2007 12:57am
Coaches out of coaches area tskill Football 3 Mon Oct 03, 2005 07:21am
NCAA assistant coaches vs. HS assistant coaches Indy_Ref Basketball 7 Sun Apr 18, 2004 03:57pm
Asst. coaches; head coaches Putty Basketball 1 Fri Dec 12, 2003 11:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1