The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Jan 04, 2009, 09:37pm
Official Forum Member

Former Ref who are coaches are such ...

I know they are because, well I was that person. I officiated my way through college, enjoying every bit of it. I got my degree, moved cities and got a job teaching. My father in law as a assistant principal had a coach quit 1 day before the season and knew I would be interested. Thus I entered the "dark side". I still wanted so much to be an official, so i tried my very best from my little box. As you can imagine, being a still somewhat immature 24 year old first year coach. Any of you would have run me in heartbeat. But I never did. I had a hard time adjusting. I still do. But as I approach 30 I think i am a bit wiser and now know I did not do my teams any service by being a ***. This year I have refocused myself and thus my team.

I would like to say that this forum helped in my maturation as i would frequent here just to read. And I am a much happier person. So I thank you all for your posts and insights. And I am even much more proud to say that this is my last year coaching, because being on this site and reading what other officials have to say had re-energized me to return to officiating.
Old Sun Jan 04, 2009, 10:02pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock

Should we really believe someone named "TrojanHorse"?

I hope you do well at whatever you do: coaching or officiating. Lord knows we need good ones in both avocations!
Old Sun Jan 04, 2009, 10:07pm
This IS My Social Life

Back to the Lighter Side

Welcome back to officiating! After starting as an official, spending 7 years coaching, then going back to officiating, I can truly say I enjoy the game much more now than from the bench. Hope it works out the same for you!
Old Sun Jan 04, 2009, 10:11pm
Official Forum Member