The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post

Often time a pass or a play is going to the basket. Have you never seen an alley-op dunk pass? Often times the screens that makes that happen is around the basket. If he is looking at someone else, he might miss a hold or an illegal screen. Once again, the Trail and Center passed on this play which they are much more responsible for in this situation. It is a long way to go for a Lead to call something well beyond the three point line. I cannot think of many times I have ever had to make that kind of call in a half-court situation.
The contact I'm talking about happened right at the 3-point line, so roughly 20ft from the end line. Assuming an un-obstructed view, I'd say that's a reasonable distance to make a call if you're 110% sure. That's definitely not an 'AT&T' call as you're trying to make it sound.

Again, my opinion saying that's a reasonable distance. However, it's a FACT that the contact, that I (and others) see, happened right AT the 3-point line, not 'well beyond' the 3-point line.

Agree though, that this was a very unique circumstance, and that it is probably pretty rare for an off-official to have to make such a call, but every official needs to be prepared to do just that if such a circumstance requires.
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 02:47pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
The contact I'm talking about happened right at the 3-point line, so roughly 20ft from the end line. Assuming an un-obstructed view, I'd say that's a reasonable distance to make a call if you're 110% sure. That's definitely not an 'AT&T' call as you're trying to make it sound.
The supposed contact had to take place about 5 feet above the 3 point line. And the player did not fall until 15 feet or so away from the three point line. The call was not made until after the player fell while he was lying next to the division line. Now I do not know your knowledge of three person, but no where is outside the 3 point line in the area of the Lead official. The Lead's coverage area ends at the FT line. Now in my 10 plus years doing 3 Person that is a long ways to be looking for me or anyone. And at the college level the players are much bigger and it is harder to look clearly at those players.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
Again, my opinion saying that's a reasonable distance. However, it's a FACT that the contact, that I (and others) see, happened right AT the 3-point line, not 'well beyond' the 3-point line.
FACT!! You obviously did not see the video if you think the "contact" took place at the 3 point line. Just goes the show another reason this was reaching.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
Agree though, that this was a very unique circumstance, and that it is probably pretty rare for an off-official to have to make such a call, but every official needs to be prepared to do just that if such a circumstance requires.
The play was a basketball play; it was at a critical moment in the game. Two other officials were on the play and passed. What do I need to be ready to call? Seems like my partners have it covered and if you work enough 3 Person, you realize they can cover that. This was an NCAA Regional Semi-Final; I think my partners can handle the game at that point. If they cannot, then I am worrying too much.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 03:02pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
The contact I'm talking about happened right at the 3-point line, so roughly 20ft from the end line.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The supposed contact had to take place about 5 feet above the 3 point line.



FACT!! You obviously did not see the video if you think the "contact" took place at the 3 point line. Just goes the show another reason this was reaching.


The contact actually took place a few feet outside the arc, pretty much even with the top of the arc.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 03:20pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The contact actually took place a few feet outside the arc, pretty much even with the top of the arc.
I saw the tape. We cannot ever agree on whether there was contact, you really think we are going to agree on where the "non-contact" took place?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 03:25pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I saw the tape. We cannot ever agree on whether there was contact, you really think we are going to agree on where the "non-contact" took place?

Peace
You say there was no contact, yet argue about where it took place.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 03:28pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
You say there was no contact, yet argue about where it took place.
The only place it could have taken place was outside the 3 point lane. I just disagree that it took place at all. When the Kansas player feel, no one was around him. But he fell because of contact. Riiiiiiihhhhhhhttttttttt!!!!!

I know the word "context" is hard for you to actually understand.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 03:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The contact actually took place a few feet outside the arc, pretty much even with the top of the arc.
I guess 7'-3" above the arc.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The supposed contact had to take place about 5 feet above the 3 point line. And the player did not fall until 15 feet or so away from the three point line. The call was not made until after the player fell while he was lying next to the division line. Now I do not know your knowledge of three person, but no where is outside the 3 point line in the area of the Lead official. The Lead's coverage area ends at the FT line. Now in my 10 plus years doing 3 Person that is a long ways to be looking for me or anyone. And at the college level the players are much bigger and it is harder to look clearly at those players.

That's called giving your partner, who has the primary coverage, the first crack at getting the call. The T didn't so the L came in with the call. That seemed pretty obvious to me.

Likewise, the T's covereage ends at that same FT line. Am I the only one to ever see a T come in with a rebounding foul?? Is that too a long way to be looking??? Bigger players I would agree, but I would say it would be easier to see those players because of that. I could see a size 17 foot a lot clearer at 20 feet away than I could a size 9 foot.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
FACT!! You obviously did not see the video if you think the "contact" took place at the 3 point line. Just goes the show another reason this was reaching.
Yeah, I have many times. Only took the first replay when the game was on for me to see what really happened, the MSU player lower leg contact with KU player's foot. I took a snapshot of the video when the contact occurred and drew a vertical line, ended up a foot or so outside the 3-point line. My guess is that we're not talking about the same part of the entire play.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The play was a basketball play; it was at a critical moment in the game. Two other officials were on the play and passed. What do I need to be ready to call? Seems like my partners have it covered and if you work enough 3 Person, you realize they can cover that. This was an NCAA Regional Semi-Final; I think my partners can handle the game at that point. If they cannot, then I am worrying too much.
How do you KNOW that the C passed? He had quite a few players in his line of sight and could have been blocked from seeing it.

You yourself, have said that D1 officials sometimes "miss one". True enough. Would it not be ok if one of the other two officials on the court come in and pick up their partner in that case, if one of them happened to see the play and were 110% sure? That's what I'd want, no matter the game's venue. Maybe you wouldn't. Thing is, this is just 1 call out of 100+ whistles during the game. Why is one whistle from out of primary considered 'worrying too much'?
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 05:22pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
That's called giving your partner, who has the primary coverage, the first crack at getting the call. The T didn't so the L came in with the call. That seemed pretty obvious to me.
Maybe that is what you call it. That is not what they call it around me. This is not a play that started in the Center's area and ended up in the Lead's position. I do not know your officiating background, but this call would not have been very well accepted in the places I work. And this game had many cameras watching.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
Likewise, the T's covereage ends at that same FT line. Am I the only one to ever see a T come in with a rebounding foul?? Is that too a long way to be looking??? Bigger players I would agree, but I would say it would be easier to see those players because of that. I could see a size 17 foot a lot clearer at 20 feet away than I could a size 9 foot.
Actually the Trail's area is above the FT line. That is the case in all mechanics (CCA Men's and Women's and NF) that most of us work other than maybe FIBA.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
Yeah, I have many times. Only took the first replay when the game was on for me to see what really happened, the MSU player lower leg contact with KU player's foot. I took a snapshot of the video when the contact occurred and drew a vertical line, ended up a foot or so outside the 3-point line. My guess is that we're not talking about the same part of the entire play.
We can argue about this all day. But you are admitting that the area is not in the Lead's coverage area.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
How do you KNOW that the C passed? He had quite a few players in his line of sight and could have been blocked from seeing it.
The same way you know that the Lead actually saw contact and did not guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
You yourself, have said that D1 officials sometimes "miss one". True enough. Would it not be ok if one of the other two officials on the court come in and pick up their partner in that case, if one of them happened to see the play and were 110% sure? That's what I'd want, no matter the game's venue. Maybe you wouldn't. Thing is, this is just 1 call out of 100+ whistles during the game. Why is one whistle from out of primary considered 'worrying too much'?
Because there is (a lot) debate if the call is right. And if I am going to get a call outside of my area, I cannot have this much debate over it and feel comfortable. And I bet the Trail might not agree that it was a good call. Maybe he does by reviewing tape, but his initial reaction was not necessarily positive. His body language sure was not “you saved me.” The Trail’s body language was much more like, “What tha…..”

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post

We can argue about this all day. But you are admitting that the area is not in the Lead's coverage area.

Peace
Feel free to look back, but none of my posts were arguing the fact that this was Lead's coverage. I'm just not getting all riled up because L came in and took that call. That was how the OP started, right?

I don't think you understood my point on T coming in for a rebounding foul. I was giving you a 'reverse' example to ponder and......well, never mind.

I will, by default, give D1 officials the respect and make the assumption that they are only making calls that they see. This is something, I think, we are all told/taught in our first years of officiating.

I will not though, that because a D1 official doesn't blow his whistle, assume it is because he is passing on the play. That's taking an assumption to an unjustified level.

I'm glad you brought up the reaction of the Trail official. I agree, his reaction wasn't positive and his body language was very negative. To me, that is inexcusable and is basically throwing his partner under the bus. Save it for the locker room.
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 06:11pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
Feel free to look back, but none of my posts were arguing the fact that this was Lead's coverage. I'm just not getting all riled up because L came in and took that call. That was how the OP started, right?

I don't think you understood my point on T coming in for a rebounding foul. I was giving you a 'reverse' example to ponder and......well, never mind.
I did not say you suggested this was in the Lead's area. You could not make that claim anyway. Also a rebounding situation is very different.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
I will, by default, give D1 officials the respect and make the assumption that they are only making calls that they see. This is something, I think, we are all told/taught in our first years of officiating.
We are? First of all I see people ripping D1 officials all the time here. I even see people ripping the top names. I wonder why this play is given so much deference to this one call. And I can think of a certain official that calls all over the court and the very same people on the opposite side of this issue from me often point out how bad this particular official is. Things that make you go hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
I will not though, that because a D1 official doesn't blow his whistle, assume it is because he is passing on the play. That's taking an assumption to an unjustified level.
Well I am not assuming anything, the covering official did not call anything. That usually means you passed on the play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IUgrad92 View Post
I'm glad you brought up the reaction of the Trail official. I agree, his reaction wasn't positive and his body language was very negative. To me, that is inexcusable and is basically throwing his partner under the bus. Save it for the locker room.
I agree, but telling.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 06:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Well I am not assuming anything, the covering official did not call anything. That usually means you passed on the play.
Peace
Nice try. Earlier you said, "Two other officials were on the play and passed." You obviously were talking about T and C. So if you weren't making an assumption for C, what would you call it?

You're assuming C saw it and passed. Possible. But it is also possible he just didn't see the play. So yes, Jeff, you are assuming (unless you know Jamie Luckie personally and he told you he saw it and passed).
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 31, 2009, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
The supposed contact had to take place about 5 feet above the 3 point line. And the player did not fall until 15 feet or so away from the three point line. The call was not made until after the player fell while he was lying next to the division line. Now I do not know your knowledge of three person, but no where is outside the 3 point line in the area of the Lead official.
I know you know believe there was contact, but, for the sake of this discussion, assume there was.

Yes, it was above the FT line, but no where near as far as you think.

The defender who the foul was called on had his right foot on the three-point line to the side of the key about 4 feet above the FT line extended. He left foot, which is what tripped the Kansas player was a step or so toward the center of the court and toward the division line.

The call was made late. It's called seeing the entire play. If the player doesn't fall, no foul. Since he ultimately fell due to the contact, foul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post

Two other officials were on the play and passed. What do I need to be ready to call? Seems like my partners have it covered and if you work enough 3 Person, you realize they can cover that. This was an NCAA Regional Semi-Final; I think my partners can handle the game at that point. If they cannot, then I am worrying too much.

Peace



Take a look at where the players were....
  • 2 players on the opposite sideline, a little below the FT line.
  • 2 players just coming into the key around the block form the center's side just as the trip happens.
  • 5 players on the L/T side of the court, between the FT line extended and top of the key extended.
  • 1 player (thrower) about 8 feet below the division line.
  • 0 players below the FT line and on the leads side of the lane or in the lane (with 2 coming into the far side of the lane)
Now the officials...

The C was a little above the FT line extended...perhaps top of the key. The C was clearly covering the 2 on his sideline and maybe still covering the two moving into the key from his primary...one of them looked to still be straddling the lane line on the C's side. Except for the thrower, the fouler was the farthest player from the C. The foulee, 2nd farthest. The C, with 2-4 other players to cover in his primary and 7 players closer to him than the point of the foul, wouldn't usually look to the 8th and 9th closest players for a play 3-4 feet outside the lane line extended on the opposite side.

The trial, being at the division line, could have covered it but was pretty high to cover a play just above the FT line extended....and was in no better position than the lead.

The lead had no other players in his primary...the fouled player came form his primary....maybe had two coming into his primary from the opposite side 60+ feet from the throwin spot and not actively working to be part of the play. The next match-up for the lead was the point of the foul. He was actually as close to it as he trail (perhaps a little closer even), had an unobstructed view from that position with no other competitive match-ups in his area.

Should the lead have simply packed his whistle up and waited for players to enter his primary? No. I've been taught that when there are no players in your primary, you extend to the next closest competitive matchup...in this case, the point where the foul was called.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Mar 31, 2009 at 06:14pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I stay or should I go Philz Basketball 21 Mon Oct 27, 2008 08:10pm
Should I Stay or Should I go. BigUmp56 Baseball 30 Tue Jul 01, 2008 09:27pm
Should he stay or should he go bluehair Baseball 17 Mon Jun 04, 2007 07:04am
Does he stay or does he go? GarthB Baseball 26 Thu Apr 05, 2007 10:09pm
Fishing in someone else's pond Steve_pa Basketball 28 Fri Mar 14, 2003 07:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1