The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member

Should I stay or should I go

I've been officiating BB for 15 years now. I've been doing NJB, HS, and adult rec ball. Last year really depressed me and is making me wounder if I want to do this anymore. I worked my ussual 100 plus game but I never have had so many bad experiences in one season as I did last year and every year seems to get worst.
I was assaulted once in adult rec game, had a fight break out in a HS boys game were one boy had to be taken to the hospital and have reconstrutive sugery on his face (I'm still waiting to be called to court on that one). I called more techs last year I believe then in my whole officating career. I never saw so much bad sportsmanship. The last straw was toward the end of the year I kinda lost it myself and actually premeditated an ejection on a player(adult rec) that had given me some crap all year and I decided to get rid of him ASAP. I never done that before and felt so bad I gave up on officating the rest of the year. In fact I didnt even ump softball which was the fist time in 10 years.
I'm not a bad official and ussually get selected to do some high profile games and although I could have done some things better I'm feeling this isnt fun anymore. In fact toward the end of the season I did not look forward to my games.
Anybody else get that feeling?
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member

First of all, quit doing wreck ball. I can bet that will help your situation by at least 50%.
Old Fri Oct 24, 2008, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member