The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 14, 2009, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You asked.
The error must be corrected during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started following the error; not following the discovery. The error occurred with the clock stopped (on a free throw), so the error in this case needed to be corrected during the dead ball following the score off the rebound. That's the very brief time between the ball going through the basket and the new 5 second throwin count starting.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Consider yourself corrected.

It has nothing to do with what the scorer does. The error must be discovered by the first dead ball after the clock legally starts.
I appreciate the information. I agree with everything you both wrote and do not dispute it. Thanks.

The only place I am getting confused is from the 2008-09 NCAA Rulebook Pg 49 Rule 2 Section 12 Art 3.

Art. 3. When the officials’ error as in Rule 2-12.1 is made while the game
clock is running
and the ball is dead, it must be recognized and corrected by
an official before the second live ball to be correctable.

So let's go back to my original scenario: B1 is given an foul and the scorekeeper tells the official it is 1 and 1. A1 misses the first shot of the 1 and 1, B2 gets the rebound (clock now running) and proceeds to B's front court. The scorekeeper now realizes Team B has 10 team fouls and his error in not originally awarding the double-bonus for A1. Team B scores on a 2pt shot (dead ball #1). A1 receives the inbound pass A1 then calls a timeout (dead ball #2) when the scorekeeper advises the officials of the correctable error.

Since the error was discovered when the clock was running and was caught before the 2nd live ball, wouldn't this error still be correctable?

Thanks for your input.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 14, 2009, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
Since the error was discovered when the clock was running and was caught before the 2nd live ball, wouldn't this error still be correctable?
The phrase "second live ball" refers to second from the correctable error, not second from the time of discovery. So, no.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 14, 2009, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The phrase "second live ball" refers to second from the correctable error, not second from the time of discovery. So, no.
Thanks for your clarification.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 14, 2009, 02:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
"when the clock is running and the ball is dead" refers specifically to a three point shot that is erroneously counted as two or a two point shot that is counted as three. These are the only correctable errors that can happen while the clock is running.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 14, 2009, 04:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
"when the clock is running and the ball is dead" refers specifically to a three point shot that is erroneously counted as two or a two point shot that is counted as three. These are the only correctable errors that can happen while the clock is running.
No, that's not true. 2-10-3 does apply to 2-10-1e. But that is not the only CE that can happen while the clock is running.

If two shots are merited, only one is given and is missed, and the clock then starts, a CE has occurred while the clock is running. That's why it has to be recognized at the first dead ball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 14, 2009, 04:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I guess I consider all FT errors to occur while the clock is stopped. I can see how one could consider this error to be be a split second later when the clock started. It doesn't matter, though, the point of no return is the same regardless; I think.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 15, 2009, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 306
I'll be in Philly for the weekend action.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error? qcumpire Football 6 Wed Nov 07, 2007 09:30am
Correctable Error johnnyrao Basketball 19 Mon Jul 24, 2006 08:06pm
Another correctable error in NIT Nevadaref Basketball 2 Tue Mar 23, 2004 05:01pm
correctable error coldbears Basketball 60 Fri Mar 19, 2004 01:37pm
correctable error John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 23 Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1