The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Nevada-La Tech Correctable Error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52265-nevada-la-tech-correctable-error.html)

just another ref Sat Mar 14, 2009 01:58am

Nevada-La Tech Correctable Error
 
Isn't the NCAA correctable error rule basically the same as NFHS? Tech was incorrectly awarded 1&1 in a 2 shot situation. Player missed the first. Nevada rebounded, went down and scored. Tech inbounded, crossed the division line and called timeout. After a lengthy delay, the Tech player was given his other free throw. Then Tech got the ball back, and according to the announcers, Tech was not charged with a timeout.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 14, 2009 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 588236)
Isn't the NCAA correctable error rule basically the same as NFHS?


Yes, correctable errors are handled the same way as in NFHS.

co2ice Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:21am

I watched the game and Randy McCall got it right! I love when officials get together and come to the right conclusion! It showed this crew really where in charge and new their stuff.

BBall_Junkie Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by co2ice (Post 588260)
I watched the game and Randy McCall got it right! I love when officials get together and come to the right conclusion! It showed this crew really where in charge and new their stuff.

While I agreee that they ultimately got it right I am sure they are kicking themselves for not being on top of the foul count and avoiding that situation all together.

Scrapper1 Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:45am

I agree they got it right. Unrelated question: why in the world are LA Tech and Nevada in the same conference? :confused:

Adam Sat Mar 14, 2009 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 588236)
Isn't the NCAA correctable error rule basically the same as NFHS? Tech was incorrectly awarded 1&1 in a 2 shot situation. Player missed the first. Nevada rebounded, went down and scored. Tech inbounded, crossed the division line and called timeout. After a lengthy delay, the Tech player was given his other free throw. Then Tech got the ball back, and according to the announcers, Tech was not charged with a timeout.

Okay, I hate to rain on the "they-got-it-right" parade, but isn't it too late once Tech inbounds the throwin following Nevada's basket?

In NFHS, it has to be corrected in the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

just another ref Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 588271)
Okay, I hate to rain on the "they-got-it-right" parade, but isn't it too late once Tech inbounds the throwin following Nevada's basket?

In NFHS, it has to be corrected in the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

I was in the middle of typing that up, Snaq.

2.10.2 Situation: B1 fouls A1. Team A is in the bonus, but the official erroneously awards the ball to Team A for a throw-in. A1's throw-in is intercepted by B1 who scores a goal. A1's throw-in is controlled by A2 who dribbles into Team A's midcourt and then asks for a timeout. During the timeout, the scorer advises the referee that Team A was in the bonus when B1 fouled A1. Ruling: It is too late to correct the error. The error could have been corrected any time during the dead ball following the goal by B1, as this was the first dead ball after the clock started following the error.


What is the difference in this and the OP?

bob jenkins Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 588271)
Okay, I hate to rain on the "they-got-it-right" parade, but isn't it too late once Tech inbounds the throwin following Nevada's basket?

In NFHS, it has to be corrected in the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

Yes, it's too late in both NCAA and NFHS; assuming the play was properly described.

dahoopref Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:51am

I didn't see the game but I'm curious if the official scorer told the crew it was still 1 and 1 and not double-bonus; it has happened to me (and I'm sure some you) before.

If the table scorer did then the crew adjudicated this correctable error properly.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 588295)
I didn't see the game but I'm curious if the official scorer told the crew it was still 1 and 1 and not double-bonus; it has happened to me (and I'm sure some you) before.

If the table scorer did then the crew adjudicated this correctable error properly.


Sorry partner but that makes no difference whatsoever.

dahoopref Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 588296)
Sorry partner but that makes no difference whatsoever.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if the table scorekeepr discovered it should've been a 2 shot foul (instead of 1 and 1) when the ball is in play then would the officials have until the 2nd live ball to correct the error?:confused:

Adam Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 588301)
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if the table scorekeepr discovered it should've been a 2 shot foul (instead of 1 and 1) when the ball is in play then would the officials have until the 2nd live ball to correct the error?:confused:

You asked. :)
The error must be corrected during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started following the error; not following the discovery. The error occurred with the clock stopped (on a free throw), so the error in this case needed to be corrected during the dead ball following the score off the rebound. That's the very brief time between the ball going through the basket and the new 5 second throwin count starting.

mbyron Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 588301)
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if the table scorekeepr discovered it should've been a 2 shot foul (instead of 1 and 1) when the ball is in play then would the officials have until the 2nd live ball to correct the error?:confused:

In a way, yes, but we wouldn't describe it this way. As Snaqs said: correct it during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.

BktBallRef Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 588301)
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if the table scorekeepr discovered it should've been a 2 shot foul (instead of 1 and 1) when the ball is in play then would the officials have until the 2nd live ball to correct the error?:confused:

Consider yourself corrected. :)

It has nothing to do with what the scorer does. The error must be discovered by the first dead ball after the clock legally starts.

dahoopref Sat Mar 14, 2009 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 588305)
You asked. :)
The error must be corrected during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started following the error; not following the discovery. The error occurred with the clock stopped (on a free throw), so the error in this case needed to be corrected during the dead ball following the score off the rebound. That's the very brief time between the ball going through the basket and the new 5 second throwin count starting.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 588308)
Consider yourself corrected. :)

It has nothing to do with what the scorer does. The error must be discovered by the first dead ball after the clock legally starts.

I appreciate the information. I agree with everything you both wrote and do not dispute it. Thanks.

The only place I am getting confused is from the 2008-09 NCAA Rulebook Pg 49 Rule 2 Section 12 Art 3.

Art. 3. When the officials’ error as in Rule 2-12.1 is made while the game
clock is running
and the ball is dead, it must be recognized and corrected by
an official before the second live ball to be correctable.

So let's go back to my original scenario: B1 is given an foul and the scorekeeper tells the official it is 1 and 1. A1 misses the first shot of the 1 and 1, B2 gets the rebound (clock now running) and proceeds to B's front court. The scorekeeper now realizes Team B has 10 team fouls and his error in not originally awarding the double-bonus for A1. Team B scores on a 2pt shot (dead ball #1). A1 receives the inbound pass A1 then calls a timeout (dead ball #2) when the scorekeeper advises the officials of the correctable error.

Since the error was discovered when the clock was running and was caught before the 2nd live ball, wouldn't this error still be correctable?

Thanks for your input.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1