![]() |
|
|
|||
I didn't see the game but I'm curious if the official scorer told the crew it was still 1 and 1 and not double-bonus; it has happened to me (and I'm sure some you) before.
If the table scorer did then the crew adjudicated this correctable error properly. |
|
|||
Quote:
Sorry partner but that makes no difference whatsoever.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if the table scorekeepr discovered it should've been a 2 shot foul (instead of 1 and 1) when the ball is in play then would the officials have until the 2nd live ball to correct the error?
![]() |
|
|||
In a way, yes, but we wouldn't describe it this way. As Snaqs said: correct it during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() It has nothing to do with what the scorer does. The error must be discovered by the first dead ball after the clock legally starts.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Sat Mar 14, 2009 at 12:49pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
The only place I am getting confused is from the 2008-09 NCAA Rulebook Pg 49 Rule 2 Section 12 Art 3. Art. 3. When the officials’ error as in Rule 2-12.1 is made while the game clock is running and the ball is dead, it must be recognized and corrected by an official before the second live ball to be correctable. So let's go back to my original scenario: B1 is given an foul and the scorekeeper tells the official it is 1 and 1. A1 misses the first shot of the 1 and 1, B2 gets the rebound (clock now running) and proceeds to B's front court. The scorekeeper now realizes Team B has 10 team fouls and his error in not originally awarding the double-bonus for A1. Team B scores on a 2pt shot (dead ball #1). A1 receives the inbound pass A1 then calls a timeout (dead ball #2) when the scorekeeper advises the officials of the correctable error. Since the error was discovered when the clock was running and was caught before the 2nd live ball, wouldn't this error still be correctable? Thanks for your input. |
|
|||
The phrase "second live ball" refers to second from the correctable error, not second from the time of discovery. So, no.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Correctable Error? | qcumpire | Football | 6 | Wed Nov 07, 2007 09:30am |
Correctable Error | johnnyrao | Basketball | 19 | Mon Jul 24, 2006 08:06pm |
Another correctable error in NIT | Nevadaref | Basketball | 2 | Tue Mar 23, 2004 05:01pm |
correctable error | coldbears | Basketball | 60 | Fri Mar 19, 2004 01:37pm |
correctable error | John Schaefferkoetter | Basketball | 23 | Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:23pm |