The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 14, 2009, 10:59am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Isn't the NCAA correctable error rule basically the same as NFHS? Tech was incorrectly awarded 1&1 in a 2 shot situation. Player missed the first. Nevada rebounded, went down and scored. Tech inbounded, crossed the division line and called timeout. After a lengthy delay, the Tech player was given his other free throw. Then Tech got the ball back, and according to the announcers, Tech was not charged with a timeout.
Okay, I hate to rain on the "they-got-it-right" parade, but isn't it too late once Tech inbounds the throwin following Nevada's basket?

In NFHS, it has to be corrected in the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 14, 2009, 11:02am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Okay, I hate to rain on the "they-got-it-right" parade, but isn't it too late once Tech inbounds the throwin following Nevada's basket?

In NFHS, it has to be corrected in the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.
I was in the middle of typing that up, Snaq.

2.10.2 Situation: B1 fouls A1. Team A is in the bonus, but the official erroneously awards the ball to Team A for a throw-in. A1's throw-in is intercepted by B1 who scores a goal. A1's throw-in is controlled by A2 who dribbles into Team A's midcourt and then asks for a timeout. During the timeout, the scorer advises the referee that Team A was in the bonus when B1 fouled A1. Ruling: It is too late to correct the error. The error could have been corrected any time during the dead ball following the goal by B1, as this was the first dead ball after the clock started following the error.


What is the difference in this and the OP?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 14, 2009, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Okay, I hate to rain on the "they-got-it-right" parade, but isn't it too late once Tech inbounds the throwin following Nevada's basket?

In NFHS, it has to be corrected in the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.
Yes, it's too late in both NCAA and NFHS; assuming the play was properly described.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error? qcumpire Football 6 Wed Nov 07, 2007 09:30am
Correctable Error johnnyrao Basketball 19 Mon Jul 24, 2006 08:06pm
Another correctable error in NIT Nevadaref Basketball 2 Tue Mar 23, 2004 05:01pm
correctable error coldbears Basketball 60 Fri Mar 19, 2004 01:37pm
correctable error John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 23 Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1