The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2009, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Ronny:

They are NOT the same play.

Play 2.10.1.D: A1 was to be awarded a one plus one bonus free throw. A1 was erroneously awarded two free throw of which the first one was unsuccessful and the second one was successful. The Correctable Error (CE) was the awarding of a second free throw to A1. Therefore, the POI of interruption is when A1's free throw is missed; at this point there is not Team Control (TC) and therefore the ball is put back into play using the AP Arrow.

Play 2.10.1.G(d): A1 was erroneously awarded free throws instead of Team A being awarded a throw-in for B1's foul. The CE was discovered within the appropriate time frame. Since the correction was the canceling of A1's succesful free throws and Team B's throw-in for the erroneously awarded free throws, play resumes at the POI which is the awarding of a throw-in to Team A, which is the correct penalty for B1's foul.

MTD, Sr.
MTD,

In the 2nd case play (play d) they gave the ball back to Team B - not Team A - because B1 had the ball out of bounds.

Besides doesn't POI have more to do with WHERE was the interruption when the error was discovered, instead of WHEN did the error occur? What if B1 had thrown the ball in and Team B froze the ball for 4 minutes and then the error was discovered during a time out. The POI would be at the place the ball was near at the time of the T.O.

In the case plays, both times B1 was standing out of bounds with the ball for a thowin when the error was discovered. And, both times was after an umerited successful f.throw.
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Correctable error casebook play 2.10.1 - NCAA treatment CallMeMrRef Basketball 7 Wed Feb 18, 2009 02:42pm
NFHS 2008-09 Casebook Play 2.10.1 Situation D Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 4 Fri Dec 05, 2008 01:17pm
Rule 9.1.1 Casebook play, Dribbling off foot on freethrow jritchie Basketball 11 Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:10pm
ruling on this play??? mikeref Softball 5 Mon May 31, 2004 07:11pm
Trick Play Ruling Mattinglyfan Baseball 7 Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1