The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 11:53am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_School View Post
R-u-l-e 10 - 3 - 6 - a . . . . . d-e-l-a-y t-h-e g-a-m-e b-y p-r-e-v-e-n-t-i-n-g t-h-e b-a-l-l f-r-o-m b-e-i-n-g m-a-d-e l-i-v-e o-r f-r-o-m b-e-i-n-g p-u-t i-n p-l-a-y.


O-K ?
Not O-K. The rule you quote is actually 10-1-5-b and the case book examples given are nothing like this.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 11:55am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
As far as a player drawing attention to himself, is this any different than the
strutting/high fives/chest bumping that goes on when the starting lineups are introduced?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Not O-K. The rule you quote is actually 10-1-5-b and the case book examples given are nothing like this.
If it will make you feel better, use 10-1-5-b. That language meets the requirements for a T in this situation also.

O-K ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 02:10pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_School View Post
If it will make you feel better, use 10-1-5-b. That language meets the requirements for a T in this situation also.

O-K ?
Still not OK. I see you actually meant 10-3-5a originally. These rules deal with players not being where they are supposed to be or players slapping the ball away, etc. thus preventing the ball from being put in play.
The play at hand does not seem to fit this rule, in my opinion.

During introductions, A1 bends over and slaps the floor, and dislodges a tile.
There is delay while the floor is repaired.

A1 is unable to play due to a stomach virus, but is in uniform for the game.
He pukes on the court during warmups. The start of the game is delayed for cleanup.

You gonna call a T for these?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 02:13pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
A1 is unable to play due to a stomach virus, but is in uniform for the game. He pukes on the court during warmups. The start of the game is delayed for cleanup.

You gonna call a T for these?
No, as I have said before, puking on the court is a violation for an illegal dribble.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
During introductions, A1 bends over and slaps the floor, and dislodges a tile.
There is delay while the floor is repaired.
unforseen consequence of that action

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
A1 is unable to play due to a stomach virus, but is in uniform for the game.
He pukes on the court during warmups. The start of the game is delayed for cleanup.
While forseeable still accidental and therefore an exception.

The tossing of the Chalk has a reasonable, foreseeable and preventable outcome, and therefore would be a lot easier to back up with an assignor.
Yes they are readyto play but the direct, and controlable actions of their teammate caused the delay by making the facility unplayable.

While I would be trying not to have to make this call if possible, I can at least back it up.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Still not OK. I see you actually meant 10-3-5a originally. These rules deal with players not being where they are supposed to be or players slapping the ball away, etc. thus preventing the ball from being put in play.
The play at hand does not seem to fit this rule, in my opinion.

During introductions, A1 bends over and slaps the floor, and dislodges a tile.
There is delay while the floor is repaired.

A1 is unable to play due to a stomach virus, but is in uniform for the game.
He pukes on the court during warmups. The start of the game is delayed for cleanup.

You gonna call a T for these?
I meant 10-3-5a originally. I used last year's book to give the old rules citation. I have now gone back and changed it. That rule isn't applicable anyway because the person who threw the powder in the air wasn't a "player". He was still "bench personnel" because the game hadn't started yet. I realized that after I posted.

Rule 10-1-5b is still easily applicable though. It says that it's a team T to allow the game to develop into an actionless contest through delaying the game by preventing the ball being made promptly live or from being put in play. The person being introduced did delay the ball being made promptly live on the opening jump by his actions.

The plays that you outlined above have nothing to do with the play being discussed. They are irrelevant.

O-K ?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
10-1-5b-

really referes to restarting the game after a time out and the resumption of play procedures,(7-5-1 and 8-1-2)for a throw in or a free throw, then issueing a Technical after the complete cycle of proceedure.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
side note

Several years ago during second round the ACC conference tournament - a rather well know official was sent home from the tournament, losing at least one possibly two more games), after issuing a Technical foul to North Carolina for delay of game after following, not only the rules but the guidelines given to the officials at the begining of the tournament.

In the first half there were a couple delays with NC having to wipe/dry the floor after having their time out out near the lane area. Early in the second half the game was again delyed by about a minute while the floor was dried after an NC timeout. At this point an official warning was issued for delay of game at this point.

About mid way through the second half after a 30 second time out the floor area of the NC bench was being wiped down and delayed the game again so a technical foul was issued to NC.

Coaches, Fans, Administrators, and Announcers lambasted the referee for making the Technical call in close ball game and the co-ordinator of officials said in a statement after the punishment of the official was made public that he expected better judgement from an official with that much experience in the ACC.

Note during the officails tournament meetings this particular delay of game scenario was a point of emphasis, officials were told that they were to do everything with in their power and the rules to prevent these delays from occuring.

So just be sure you are doing !
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 03:38pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
Several years ago during second round the ACC conference tournament - a rather well know official was sent home from the tournament, losing at least one possibly two more games), after issuing a Technical foul to North Carolina for delay of game after following, not only the rules but the guidelines given to the officials at the begining of the tournament.
Doing the provincials finals last year. Assistant RIC comes in from out of town, and eval'd me on one particular game. I guess he was sleeping during the pre-tournament meeting when the Head RIC quoted a provincial policy regarding the half-time mechanics that referees are to follow.

The As'st RIC's first comment to me: telling me that I mishandled the half-time communication with the coach. His suggestion: exact opposite to the policy set by our governing body.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 24, 2009, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
really referes to restarting the game after a time out and the resumption of play procedures,(7-5-1 and 8-1-2)for a throw in or a free throw, then issueing a Technical after the complete cycle of proceedure.
No. The resumption of play procedure is a completely separate part of rule 10-1-5b.

If the resumption of play procedure does not apply, as is the case in this particular situation, it is an immediate T to delay the game with no prior warning.

Just mark it up as yet another example of a rule that you don't understand.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2009, 02:13am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Enough already.

A vote.

Somebody set up one of those poll thingys. How many would call a T for the clown throwing powder up in the air and delaying the start of the game.


I vote no.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 25, 2009, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old_School View Post
No. The resumption of play procedure is a completely separate part of rule 10-1-5b.

Just mark it up as yet another example of a rule that you don't understand.
I said 10-1-5b does not apply to the OP period

10-1-5a is specific to this situation
ART. 5 . . . Allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:
a. When the clock is not running consuming a full minute through not being ready when it is time to start either half.

there is no need to move beyond this section of the rule because it is specific to the situation.

5b enlists the of the ROP procedure because it is specifically refering to delay situations where it may be possibly to use this procedure rather than going directly to the technical. This situation is not one of them so 5b does not apply here.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PA to start the game Johnny Ringo Basketball 4 Mon Jan 26, 2009 04:02am
"T" or No "T" to start the game? kdays78 Basketball 5 Tue Nov 29, 2005 04:14pm
How'd you like to work for these guys? KSRef Football 4 Wed Oct 05, 2005 02:41pm
How'd they do that? eventnyc Feedback 6 Wed Jan 19, 2005 03:10pm
How'd we do? bard Basketball 8 Wed Dec 05, 2001 05:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1