The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 11:49am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
What fast one will the coach be trying to pull?
If one of his players dunks prior to when the book is filled out, for example, and the coach wants to avoid the T, he can leave said player out of the lineup.

He can then have him added to the book later, but this time it's a team T only; nothing to the player or coach. Coach can also time this so that it only costs him two free throws.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
snaq, in all due respects, thats quite the ledge you are dangling off.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
snaq, in all due respects, thats quite the ledge you are dangling off.
Tell me, then, what do you do if A55 dunks with 14 minutes on the clock. You go to report it, and the book isn't done yet. Coach says he's one of the varsity guys. What's your call?

You just asked "what fast one" the coach could be pulling. I told you; it's not my ledge.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
[QUOTE=Snaqwells;575316]Tell me, then, what do you do if A55 dunks with 14 minutes on the clock. You go to report it, and the book isn't done yet. Coach says he's one of the varsity guys. What's your call?QUOTE]



I guess I'd T and tell the coach that an A55 just dunked when they knew they couldn't
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
what do you do when, during pregame warmups for the JV game, one of the players dunks? ... he's not in the book
Being in the book has nothing to do with anything. The Rule 10 technical reads "player." Since a "player" is one of only 5 at a given time, the rule's intent is actually "team member," which includes everyone in uniform who is eligible to be a player. The rule in Rule 10 probably should read "Player or team member" to cover times when more than 5 can be on the court -- such as pregame and warm ups. The book isn't required to be complete prior to 10 minutes before the game (and, individuals can be added later as well at the expense of a penalty), yet the officials' jurisdiction begins 15 minutes prior. You're still going to call a T for an apparent team member who dunks at 14 minutes prior even though he isn't yet in the book.

Don't make this hard: if he is a team member, T. If not, tell game management to tell them to stay off the rim. Its not your job to involve yourself with non team members.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Who do you apply this to if the coach never puts him in the book?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
wait till hes in the book then tell the coach that he got a tech for dunking during warmups. I dont think the warmup is only for 10 minutes before the game. Once the officials are on the court, for their game both teams warming up at their baskets are team members for that game whether or not the book is completed. If its clear a team member dunked he's getting a T. But then again this problem isnt so rampant that we really think its going to happen all the time. A huge majority know the rule, and unless its a really thunderous dunk most times a quick chat and warning gets the message across.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Clinton, Mich
Posts: 27
Thanks for the input. My thoughts concur with yours. Just tell them not to do it again and better yet, hit the road..
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
Being in the book has nothing to do with anything. The Rule 10 technical reads "player." Since a "player" is one of only 5 at a given time, the rule's intent is actually "team member," which includes everyone in uniform who is eligible to be a player. The rule in Rule 10 probably should read "Player or team member" to cover times when more than 5 can be on the court -- such as pregame and warm ups.
It does.

Rule 10, Section 3
A player shall not:
. . .
ART. 3 . . . Grasp either basket during the time of the officials’ jurisdiction,
dunk or stuff, or attempt to dunk or stuff a dead ball prior to or during the game
or during any intermission until jurisdiction of the officials has ended. This item
applies to all team members.

EXCEPTION: A player may grasp the basket to prevent injury.
PENALTY: (Art. 3) For dunking or grasping during pregame or intermission, the
foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 12:10pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If one of his players dunks prior to when the book is filled out, for example, and the coach wants to avoid the T, he can leave said player out of the lineup.
This point is debatable.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2009, 08:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If one of his players dunks prior to when the book is filled out, for example, and the coach wants to avoid the T, he can leave said player out of the lineup.

He can then have him added to the book later, but this time it's a team T only; nothing to the player or coach. Coach can also time this so that it only costs him two free throws.
There is a simple way to put a stop to that.

Charge both the team T when the name is entered later AND a direct technical foul to the Head Coach for unsporting behavior.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 01:38pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I asked the state coordinator of officials in Nebraska (NSAA) regarding the situation in the OP and this was his response:

Probably should have skipped the technical foul. The player that dunked the ball was not part of the game being contested. He and his teammates shouldn't have been on the floor.

According to the NSAA basketball manual, teams are not permitted to shoot/warm-up at the intermission of the preceding game. In this case the athletic administrator should have been informed and the violation should have been reported to the NSAA.


Moral of story: Check with your state on how to handle this, they may already have a policy in place.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
There is a simple way to put a stop to that.

Charge both the team T when the name is entered later AND a direct technical foul to the Head Coach for unsporting behavior.
Are you advocating two different penalties for one action?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 05:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Are you advocating two different penalties for one action?
It's more of a delayed penalty for the earlier pregame dunk.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2009, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It's more of a delayed penalty for the earlier pregame dunk.
I understand the reasoning, I'm not sure about penalizing an act that already carries it's own penalty with something on top of it. So, is he saying there would be 4 FT's for this administrative T?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error...not giving warranted freethrow jritchie Basketball 12 Thu Jan 13, 2005 05:58am
2 Ts warranted- Part 2 johnSandlin Basketball 27 Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:18am
2nd T warranted? FHSUref Basketball 35 Sat Mar 27, 2004 12:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1