![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Josh: Sit. 1: Legal. Sit. 2: First, base upon your description of the play, I a, going to assume that Aw ended his dribble by touching the ball with both ends and then fumbled or muffed the ball. At this point, there is team control by Team A but not player control by any player on Team A. A2 can recover the ball, but cannot dribble the ball if no other player touches the ball before A2 regains player control of the ball. Second, based upon your description of the play I would not rule an illegal dribble by A2. Why? A player must have established player control before said player can start to dribble the ball. One way, for a player who does not have control of the ball, to establish player control of the ball is to catch the ball. Your own description states the A2 slapped the ball in an effort to catch the ball; that should tell you that A2 did not have control of the ball and his slapping of the ball was not the start of a new dribble but an effort to recover the ball. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Jumping before dribbling | referee99 | Basketball | 6 | Sun Jan 04, 2009 04:23pm |
| Dribbling during a Throw In | Freddy | Basketball | 21 | Wed Dec 12, 2007 06:50pm |
| Dribbling and Over | polo | Basketball | 32 | Sun Aug 03, 2003 10:08pm |
| Not dribbling? | bard | Basketball | 18 | Fri Nov 22, 2002 08:43am |
| dribbling question | Ralph Stubenthal | Basketball | 3 | Mon Nov 04, 2002 02:54pm |