The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
Situation:

Player A1 in FC takes a shot - team mates and defense tip ball and A2 taps the ball back towards point guard - ball goes into BC - Is this a BC violation since player control ceases on the shot?

What if the shot was such a brick that it hit the rim and bounced into the BC with no one touching until it got to BC?
Team control ends on the shot -- we don't evaluate quality, in this case. Therefore, until team control is established in the front court, again, there can be no back court violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Team control ends on the shot -- we don't evaluate quality, in this case. Therefore, until team control is established in the front court, again, there can be no back court violation.
A slight change in your wording for more accuracy.

Therefore, until team control is established again, there can be no back court violation.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
A slight change in your wording for more accuracy.

Therefore, until team control is established again, there can be no back court violation.
Stupid comma..........
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
On the same subject, A1 dribbling the ball in FC has the ball slapped away by B1 and the ball goes into BC. When does the 10 second count start? We've had some discussion on this and I say that it starts as soon as the ball hits in the BC.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh View Post
On the same subject, A1 dribbling the ball in FC has the ball slapped away by B1 and the ball goes into BC. When does the 10 second count start? We've had some discussion on this and I say that it starts as soon as the ball hits in the BC.
If the team is inbounding the ball from the endline, when do you start the count?

What exactly is the count limiting?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 01:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
If the team is inbounding the ball from the endline, when do you start the count?

What exactly is the count limiting?
On a throwin, the count starts when team control has been established. In this situation, team control is never lost. Stosh is right, start as soon as the ball gains bc status.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
I wasn't following the thread and didn't know that one team had team-control. Carry on.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 22, 2009, 05:12pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh View Post
On the same subject, A1 dribbling the ball in FC has the ball slapped away by B1 and the ball goes into BC. When does the 10 second count start? We've had some discussion on this and I say that it starts as soon as the ball hits in the BC.
From the 08-09 NFHS Interpretations:


SITUATION 8: A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into A's backcourt. The ball is bouncing toward the end line in A's backcourt while A1 and B1 give chase. B1 and A1 each contact the ball, but neither gains control. Finally, after numerous attempts by each player, A1 gains possession deep in A's backcourt. When does the 10-second count begin anew for Team A? RULING: The count starts as soon as the ball goes into the backcourt since team control has not ended. (4-12-3; 9-8)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Violation or not? Workin2hard Basketball 6 Sun Jan 30, 2005 08:46pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
violation?? zac Basketball 2 Sun Feb 03, 2002 12:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1