The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 06:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
Using the 3-point thingy as a guideline is confusing. That rule only applies on a dribble from the bc to the fc, and in no way is applicable to this sitch. The question is, does the ball have fc status or bc status when A2 catches it? Since A2 has bc status, so does the ball. End of discussion.
Julie,

I was responding to the post that was right before mine. See Amesman's previous post.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 06:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Julie,

I was responding to the post that was right before mine. See Amesman's previous post.
Okay, I see. but you responded wrong. If he catches ball with his feet in the fc, and then dribbles in the bc, it's a violation, right? What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 06:31pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Juulie - did you get my email yesterday? If not, that would be lame. (inside joke, guys)
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 06:37pm
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
I would say it isn't a BC violation as he still has the right to be in the BC since both of his feet still obtain some of the backcourt floor. I'm thinking of this in terms of what if he started dribbling and moved into the BC and thus removed his big feed from the division line. I would not call a violation then, so I would not call a violation if he passed the ball back without dribbling.

Is there a trick answer to this? Because it seems like there might be...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 06:55pm
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
No trick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit View Post
I would say it isn't a BC violation as he still has the right to be in the BC since both of his feet still obtain some of the backcourt floor. I'm thinking of this in terms of what if he started dribbling and moved into the BC and thus removed his big feed from the division line. I would not call a violation then, so I would not call a violation if he passed the ball back without dribbling.

Is there a trick answer to this? Because it seems like there might be...
You're right. I would suggest he is IN the backcourt. Period.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Julie,

he added to the stitch that what if the same player then began to dribble but both his feet ended up in the FC and the ball remained in the BC.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 14, 2009, 06:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Juulie - did you get my email yesterday? If not, that would be lame. (inside joke, guys)
Yea. I got it. Yup, lame!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Division Line Reminder

The division line is in the backcourt. I know this doesn't really apply to the OP, but since b/c violations are commonly confusing, I thought it would be good to think this out before we get on the court.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
no. the rule states that the offensive player must establish himself in front court-all three points- ball, both feet, before he is in the front court. this is not a violation
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 02:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkansasref33 View Post
no. the rule states that the offensive player must establish himself in front court-all three points- ball, both feet, before he is in the front court. this is not a violation
Which situation are you referring to?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2009, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to swkansasref33
the op
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbies Point of View schmitty1973 Football 14 Fri Dec 03, 2004 02:06pm
You make the call..... heyblue Softball 11 Thu Aug 05, 2004 11:20pm
Make the call oppool Softball 16 Wed Jan 09, 2002 09:58pm
Watch the arrow, very important for newbies. devdog69 Basketball 2 Mon Jan 07, 2002 01:49pm
You Make The Call! ump24 Baseball 4 Fri Feb 23, 2001 05:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1