The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   You make the call - newbies especially invited to participate (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/50956-you-make-call-newbies-especially-invited-participate.html)

Mark Padgett Wed Jan 14, 2009 05:29pm

You make the call - newbies especially invited to participate
 
This happened in my game last night. A1 in backcourt with the ball. He passes to A2 who is facing him, standing on the division line with part of both shoes in the backcourt, part on the line and part in the frontcourt (he had big feet, OK?). A2 catches the ball and, without moving his feet, passes the ball back to A1 who is still in the backcourt.

Is this a violation?

deecee Wed Jan 14, 2009 05:30pm

no

AKOFL Wed Jan 14, 2009 05:32pm

Were all three points in the frontcourt? there is your answer.

Ch1town Wed Jan 14, 2009 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 568639)
Is this a violation?

Yes, when A2 caught the ball Mark was on 8 of his b/c count & when A1 received the pass back Mark was well past 10 seconds... {tweet} 10 b/c violation.

deecee Wed Jan 14, 2009 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 568643)
Were all three points in the frontcourt? there is your answer.

all 3 points were also in the backcourt.

Scratch85 Wed Jan 14, 2009 05:41pm

No violation 4-35-2

Amesman Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 568639)
This happened in my game last night. A1 in backcourt with the ball. He passes to A2 who is facing him, standing on the division line with part of both shoes in the backcourt, part on the line and part in the frontcourt (he had big feet, OK?). A2 catches the ball and, without moving his feet, passes the ball back to A1 who is still in the backcourt.

Is this a violation?

Did either of them hit the ball with her pigtails?

No.

Not to digress too much, but now what if Mr. Big Feet catches the pass and starts dribbling parallel to the division line, feet in the forecourt, ball bouncing up and down in the backcourt/on the line? (Almost kind of reminds of the old one: Can you tell me if my turn signal is working? OK -- yes, no, yes, no ...)

deecee Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:06pm

all 3 points have to be frontcourt -- the player can still go to the backcourt and it not be a violation since the ball never made it to the front court with the player.

Juulie Downs Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 568662)
all 3 points have to be frontcourt -- the player can still go to the backcourt and it not be a violation since the ball never made it to the front court with the player.

Using the 3-point thingy as a guideline is confusing. That rule only applies on a dribble from the bc to the fc, and in no way is applicable to this sitch. The question is, does the ball have fc status or bc status when A2 catches it? Since A2 has bc status, so does the ball. End of discussion.

deecee Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 568667)
Using the 3-point thingy as a guideline is confusing. That rule only applies on a dribble from the bc to the fc, and in no way is applicable to this sitch. The question is, does the ball have fc status or bc status when A2 catches it? Since A2 has bc status, so does the ball. End of discussion.

Julie,

I was responding to the post that was right before mine. See Amesman's previous post.

Juulie Downs Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 568670)
Julie,

I was responding to the post that was right before mine. See Amesman's previous post.

Okay, I see. but you responded wrong. If he catches ball with his feet in the fc, and then dribbles in the bc, it's a violation, right? What am I missing?

Mark Padgett Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:31pm

Juulie - did you get my email yesterday? If not, that would be lame. (inside joke, guys) ;)

Ref Ump Welsch Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 568639)
This happened in my game last night. A1 in backcourt with the ball. He passes to A2 who is facing him, standing on the division line with part of both shoes in the backcourt, part on the line and part in the frontcourt (he had big feet, OK?). A2 catches the ball and, without moving his feet, passes the ball back to A1 who is still in the backcourt.

Is this a violation?

Ed McMahon: And how big were they? :p

jeschmit Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:37pm

I would say it isn't a BC violation as he still has the right to be in the BC since both of his feet still obtain some of the backcourt floor. I'm thinking of this in terms of what if he started dribbling and moved into the BC and thus removed his big feed from the division line. I would not call a violation then, so I would not call a violation if he passed the ball back without dribbling.

Is there a trick answer to this? Because it seems like there might be...

Juulie Downs Wed Jan 14, 2009 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 568677)
Juulie - did you get my email yesterday? If not, that would be lame. (inside joke, guys) ;)

Yea. I got it. Yup, lame!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1